Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Mediacom HD Box

  1. #1
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 45,782, Level: 66
    Level completed: 17%, Points required for next Level: 1,168
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Social25000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Cy4Patriots's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    3,539
    Points
    45,782
    Level
    66
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 0

    Mediacom HD Box

    I have an HD cable box from Mediacom and have the family basic cable.

    My box says it's displaying in 720p, obviously that is HD, but does anyone get 1080 on their box?



  2. #2
    Addict
    Points: 178,178, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 53.0%
    Achievements:
    50000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Rhoadhoused's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Ames, IA
    Posts
    8,035
    Points
    178,178
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 301
    Given: 151

    Re: Mediacom HD Box

    Quote Originally Posted by Cy4Patriots View Post
    I have an HD cable box from Mediacom and have the family basic cable.

    My box says it's displaying in 720p, obviously that is HD, but does anyone get 1080 on their box?
    Pretty sure everything TV related comes in at 720p. Videogames and maybe blue rays are the only things that I think come in at 1080p.



  3. #3
    Speechless
    Points: 846,228, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 54.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience PointsOverdrive
    CycloneErik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Jamerica
    Posts
    53,750
    Points
    846,228
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 565
    Given: 530

    Re: Mediacom HD Box

    We don't have a box. Ours says 1080 for the locals and 720 for the cable channels.


    Since we are an elite team now, let's go get that One Cyclone Moment.
    Make this one for the ages!




    http://rememberingdoria.wordpress.com/

  4. #4
    Recruit
    Points: 3,384, Level: 16
    Level completed: 84%, Points required for next Level: 66
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience PointsVeteran

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    112
    Points
    3,384
    Level
    16
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: Mediacom HD Box

    second Roadhouse. You'll be lucky to get 1080 out of the show you watch when its shot is 720p. but if you want i'm sure someone can sell you a box that puts the 720p shot show to 1080.



  5. #5
    Speechless
    Points: 632,292, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 77.0%
    Achievements:
    50000 Experience PointsVeteranOverdrive
    3TrueFans's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ames
    Posts
    22,373
    Points
    632,292
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 493
    Given: 40

    Re: Mediacom HD Box

    No channels are broadcast in 1080p, the majority are 1080i but they'll be scaled to the native resolution of your tv, so it'll show 720p for everything.



  6. #6
    Pro
    Points: 67,331, Level: 80
    Level completed: 56%, Points required for next Level: 719
    Overall activity: 15.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    Jordanj6502's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Ames
    Posts
    3,459
    Points
    67,331
    Level
    80
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 23
    Given: 18

    Re: Mediacom HD Box

    Local channels are 1080p I believe, but Cable channels are still 720p. Do Fox, ABC, CBS, and NBC show up as 720p for you?



  7. #7
    Pro
    Points: 96,756, Level: 96
    Level completed: 86%, Points required for next Level: 294
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    FDWxMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Des Moines
    Posts
    2,142
    Points
    96,756
    Level
    96
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 5
    Given: 5

    Re:Mediacom HD Box

    NBC and CBS and their local affiliates broadcast 1080i.

    Fox and ABC stations are 720.



  8. #8
    Legend
    Points: 199,027, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 25.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialCreated Album picturesVeteran50000 Experience Points
    dmclone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    50131
    Posts
    12,955
    Points
    199,027
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 54
    Given: 132

    Re: Mediacom HD Box

    Quote Originally Posted by Jordanj6502 View Post
    Local channels are 1080p I believe,

    1080i



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • Football
  • Iowa State vs. North Dakota State
  • August 30, 2014
  • 06:00 PM