Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 50
  1. #1
    All-Star
    Points: 27,370, Level: 50
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 180
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    1,232
    Points
    27,370
    Level
    50
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 9
    Given: 0

    My HDTV went to black screen

    I have already talked with the Vizio support line, and they say that I will need to call a service technician in to fix it.

    I need to decide if it is worth fixing or just buying new. It is less than 2 years old.

    It is an LED 42" Vizio.

    Any suggestions?



  2. #2
    CyBer
    Guest

    Re: My HDTV went to black screen

    How much is fixing it?

    Also an LED TV should not go dead after 2 years, you might want to ask the technician if it's something easily fixed.

    Does it turn on at all?



  3. #3
    All-Star
    Points: 27,370, Level: 50
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 180
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    1,232
    Points
    27,370
    Level
    50
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 9
    Given: 0

    Re: My HDTV went to black screen

    It turns on, but goes to black right away. I can't even pull up my menu. I would call a TV repair guy, but I don't know who would be just screwing with me or who would know what they are talking about.



  4. #4
    CyBer
    Guest

    Re: My HDTV went to black screen

    Why not call them and ask them questions?



  5. #5
    Starter
    Points: 30,494, Level: 53
    Level completed: 68%, Points required for next Level: 356
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassVeteran25000 Experience Points
    tzjung's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    963
    Points
    30,494
    Level
    53
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 53
    Given: 103

    Re: My HDTV went to black screen

    I had a similar problem w/ mine. The main board went bad and I had a technician fix it for $150.



  6. #6
    All-Star
    Points: 27,370, Level: 50
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 180
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    1,232
    Points
    27,370
    Level
    50
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 9
    Given: 0

    Re: My HDTV went to black screen

    Quote Originally Posted by tzjung View Post
    I had a similar problem w/ mine. The main board went bad and I had a technician fix it for $150.
    I would spend $150. Who did you call?



  7. #7
    All-Star
    Points: 27,370, Level: 50
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 180
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    1,232
    Points
    27,370
    Level
    50
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 9
    Given: 0

    Re: My HDTV went to black screen

    Quote Originally Posted by CyBer View Post
    Why not call them and ask them questions?
    Who's them? I wouldn't even know where to start. Hence, why I am asking my trusted confidants at CF.



  8. #8
    CyBer
    Guest

    Re: My HDTV went to black screen

    Quote Originally Posted by BooneCy View Post
    Who's them? I wouldn't even know where to start. Hence, why I am asking my trusted confidants at CF.
    Look in the yellow pages under "tv repair".



  9. #9
    Speechless
    Points: 729,840, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 55.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience PointsOverdrive
    Cyclonepride's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    A pineapple under the sea
    Posts
    47,425
    Points
    729,840
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1,287
    Given: 631

    Re:My HDTV went to black screen

    How much you paid has a lot to do with whether it's worth fixing. TV's at a certain level are made to be replaced.



  10. #10
    All-Star
    Points: 27,370, Level: 50
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 180
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    1,232
    Points
    27,370
    Level
    50
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 9
    Given: 0

    Re: My HDTV went to black screen

    Quote Originally Posted by Cyclonepride View Post
    How much you paid has a lot to do with whether it's worth fixing. TV's at a certain level are made to be replaced.
    $1,000...which is why I am ticked that I have to fix it, but kind of want to fix it.



  11. #11
    CyBer
    Guest

    Re: My HDTV went to black screen

    Vizio is a lower end TV, and for 1000 dollars you probably should have gone with something else. IMO, Vizio is a very cheaply made product and is probably why it broke.



  12. #12
    All-Star
    Points: 27,370, Level: 50
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 180
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    1,232
    Points
    27,370
    Level
    50
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 9
    Given: 0

    Re: My HDTV went to black screen

    Quote Originally Posted by CyBer View Post
    Look in the yellow pages under "tv repair".
    And, I could read all of my Cyclone news from the paper or cyclones.com.

    OR

    I can come here and be a part of community of other Cyclone fans that help each other and give them suggestions on good tv repairman and a bunch of other stuff.



  13. #13
    All-Star
    Points: 27,370, Level: 50
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 180
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    1,232
    Points
    27,370
    Level
    50
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 9
    Given: 0

    Re: My HDTV went to black screen

    Quote Originally Posted by CyBer View Post
    Vizio is a lower end TV, and for 1000 dollars you probably should have gone with something else. IMO, Vizio is a very cheaply made product and is probably why it broke.
    Appreciate the insight. I'm guessing you're not big on problem solving, more of a go with the new idea instead of solving the current problem type of guy, am I right?



  14. #14
    Pro
    Points: 55,041, Level: 72
    Level completed: 67%, Points required for next Level: 509
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    AlleyAddict's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Ames
    Posts
    2,608
    Points
    55,041
    Level
    72
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: My HDTV went to black screen

    Quote Originally Posted by BooneCy View Post
    Appreciate the insight. I'm guessing you're not big on problem solving, more of a go with the new idea instead of solving the current problem type of guy, am I right?
    Pump the brakes, kid



  15. #15
    CyBer
    Guest

    Re: My HDTV went to black screen

    Quote Originally Posted by BooneCy View Post
    And, I could read all of my Cyclone news from the paper or cyclones.com.

    OR

    I can come here and be a part of community of other Cyclone fans that help each other and give them suggestions on good tv repairman and a bunch of other stuff.
    Or, you could ask specifically for a TV repair man if that is what you wanted. Or you could use your fingers and legs and go look it up in a phone book. Or you could use google, or you could just sit here and complain.

    The advice I gave you was good, what you choose to do with it is up to you.



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • TV: FOX
  • Iowa State vs. Baylor
  • September 27, 2014
  • 07:20 PM