Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 33

Thread: Mediacom blows

  1. #1
    Speechless
    Points: 452,818, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 74.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience PointsOverdrive
    CycloneRulzzz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Nevada, IA
    Posts
    19,091
    Points
    452,818
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 869
    Given: 2,217

    Angry Mediacom blows

    Don't know if I was the only one but just got mediacom back after 6 hours. We have everything phone, internet and cable so we were without all 3.


    Quote Originally Posted by cyowan View Post

    Rulzzz 3:16 says I just liked your post!

  2. #2
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 41,291, Level: 62
    Level completed: 73%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran25000 Experience Points
    HandSanitizer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Bondurant, IA
    Posts
    3,602
    Points
    41,291
    Level
    62
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 34
    Given: 0

    Re: Mediacom blows

    Quote Originally Posted by CyclonesRulzzz View Post
    Don't know if I was the only one but just got mediacom back after 6 hours. We have everything phone, internet and cable so we were without all 3.



    I will tell you that I have Mediacom Internet (thats it) and I work from home (2-3 days a week) and I have never been without service in 1 year. My back up is a 3G Hotspot and I never have had to use it.
    They have been pretty solid on internet for me:)

    also....I had internet all night so it must of been isolated? who knows.....maybe a crazy neigbhor installing a fence or something...lol



  3. #3
    Speechless
    Points: 646,780, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 40.0%
    Achievements:
    50000 Experience PointsVeteranOverdrive
    3TrueFans's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ames
    Posts
    23,833
    Points
    646,780
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1,474
    Given: 138

    Re: Mediacom blows

    You should switch to that ISP that has 100% uptime. I forget the name though.



  4. #4
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 41,291, Level: 62
    Level completed: 73%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran25000 Experience Points
    HandSanitizer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Bondurant, IA
    Posts
    3,602
    Points
    41,291
    Level
    62
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 34
    Given: 0

    Re: Mediacom blows

    Quote Originally Posted by 3TrueFans View Post
    You should switch to that ISP that has 100% uptime. I forget the name though.
    I think the only way to have 100% uptime is to have 2-3 providers for redundancy and UPS on your Router/modem. The 3rd provider would be a Hotspot.



  5. #5
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 66,472, Level: 80
    Level completed: 2%, Points required for next Level: 1,578
    Overall activity: 14.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    RustShack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Adventureland
    Posts
    4,655
    Points
    66,472
    Level
    80
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 111
    Given: 0

    Re: Mediacom blows

    Mediacom is god awful.


    Follow this guy on Twitter @Daddy_Rusty

  6. #6
    Speechless
    Points: 452,818, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 74.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience PointsOverdrive
    CycloneRulzzz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Nevada, IA
    Posts
    19,091
    Points
    452,818
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 869
    Given: 2,217

    Re: Mediacom blows

    Quote Originally Posted by HandSanitizer View Post
    I will tell you that I have Mediacom Internet (thats it) and I work from home (2-3 days a week) and I have never been without service in 1 year. My back up is a 3G Hotspot and I never have had to use it.
    They have been pretty solid on internet for me:)

    also....I had internet all night so it must of been isolated? who knows.....maybe a crazy neigbhor installing a fence or something...lol

    This is like the second Monday this has happened in the last 3 weeks. What is the 3G Hotspot you are talking about. Never heard about it before.


    Quote Originally Posted by cyowan View Post

    Rulzzz 3:16 says I just liked your post!

  7. #7
    Legend
    Points: 346,973, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 56.0%
    Achievements:
    50000 Experience PointsSocialVeteran
    ISUCubswin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    My Playhouse
    Posts
    11,487
    Points
    346,973
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 884
    Given: 452

    Re: Mediacom blows

    1. I understand why you are upset. You missed Raw. It's ok, it wasn't that great. Cena had an amazing speech but thats about it.

    2. If your cable goes out, just look at your signature.


    CF Big Brother Winner Season 1

    CF Amazing Race Winner Season 1*

    Future CF Survivor Winner Season 4


  8. #8
    Speechless
    Points: 452,818, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 74.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience PointsOverdrive
    CycloneRulzzz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Nevada, IA
    Posts
    19,091
    Points
    452,818
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 869
    Given: 2,217

    Re: Mediacom blows

    Quote Originally Posted by ISUCubswin View Post
    1. I understand why you are upset. You missed Raw. It's ok, it wasn't that great. Cena had an amazing speech but thats about it.

    2. If your cable goes out, just look at your signature.

    It's wasn't that. Who cares about the cable, I need my internet. I need my CF fix and right now I'm the host of the CF mafia game so everyone there is counting on me to be around.


    Quote Originally Posted by cyowan View Post

    Rulzzz 3:16 says I just liked your post!

  9. #9
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 41,291, Level: 62
    Level completed: 73%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran25000 Experience Points
    HandSanitizer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Bondurant, IA
    Posts
    3,602
    Points
    41,291
    Level
    62
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 34
    Given: 0

    Re: Mediacom blows

    Quote Originally Posted by CyclonesRulzzz View Post
    This is like the second Monday this has happened in the last 3 weeks. What is the 3G Hotspot you are talking about. Never heard about it before.
    Its a device or your even built into your cell phone that kind of works the same way your home router does.. You connect to it with your laptop and some credentials . Then you are using the internet via sprint/verizon/att etc....

    Great backup plan for me. I honestly just use it in the car on trips when you have a couple kids with devices or traveling.



  10. #10
    Rookie
    Points: 9,820, Level: 29
    Level completed: 79%, Points required for next Level: 130
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran5000 Experience Points
    CYCLONE STATE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Clive
    Posts
    529
    Points
    9,820
    Level
    29
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: Mediacom blows

    water is wet



  11. #11
    Addict
    Points: 81,640, Level: 88
    Level completed: 83%, Points required for next Level: 310
    Overall activity: 13.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    5,781
    Points
    81,640
    Level
    88
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 78
    Given: 0

    Re: Mediacom blows

    Quote Originally Posted by HandSanitizer View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by CyclonesRulzzz View Post
    This is like the second Monday this has happened in the last 3 weeks. What is the 3G Hotspot you are talking about. Never heard about it before.
    Its a device or your even built into your cell phone that kind of works the same way your home router does.. You connect to it with your laptop and some credentials . Then you are using the internet via sprint/verizon/att etc....Great backup plan for me. I honestly just use it in the car on trips when you have a couple kids with devices or traveling.
    And if you think mediacom blows, be prepared to grab your ankles for how much cell phone companies charge for the use of these devices.



  12. #12
    Pro
    Points: 58,258, Level: 74
    Level completed: 81%, Points required for next Level: 292
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    intrepid27's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Marion, IA
    Posts
    2,572
    Points
    58,258
    Level
    74
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 95
    Given: 81

    Re: Mediacom blows

    6 hours!!! OMG!!! I'd sue!!

    Seriously, read a book or talk to another human in person.



  13. #13
    Addict
    Points: 81,640, Level: 88
    Level completed: 83%, Points required for next Level: 310
    Overall activity: 13.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    5,781
    Points
    81,640
    Level
    88
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 78
    Given: 0

    Re: Mediacom blows

    Quote Originally Posted by intrepid27 View Post
    6 hours!!! OMG!!! I'd sue!! Seriously, read a book or talk to another human in person.
    How can you do this without your kindle or skype?



  14. #14
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 41,291, Level: 62
    Level completed: 73%, Points required for next Level: 359
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran25000 Experience Points
    HandSanitizer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Bondurant, IA
    Posts
    3,602
    Points
    41,291
    Level
    62
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 34
    Given: 0

    Re: Mediacom blows

    Quote Originally Posted by Clonehomer View Post
    And if you think mediacom blows, be prepared to grab your ankles for how much cell phone companies charge for the use of these devices.
    Depends.....IF you have smart phone with internet etc..check to see if it allow you to turn it into a hotspot. Some providers let you do it....Some charge you $10/month etc...

    Its a great backup plan especially when my work pays for it anyway.


    To be honest you must just have issues with something with your equipment, yard, or neighborhood.



  15. #15
    Prospect
    Points: 2,021, Level: 12
    Level completed: 57%, Points required for next Level: 129
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1000 Experience Points3 months registered

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    27
    Points
    2,021
    Level
    12
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: Mediacom blows

    I am not paying them an extra $5 a month so they can fork the money over to the B"one"G Ten and the loser HOKs so they can show replays of Ohio State games 8 hours a day.


    Last edited by mj4cy; 06-26-2012 at 08:43 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • TV: Fox Sports 1
  • Iowa State vs. North Dakota State
  • August 30, 2014
  • 11:00 AM