Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Legend
    Points: 142,334, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 10.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Marshalltown
    Posts
    10,177
    Points
    142,334
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 210
    Given: 161

    DirectTV question

    I just switched to DirectTV from DishNetwork. I'm really liking everything about it except one thing. The HD HBO channels seems to "freeze" a lot. It freezes for probably less than a second but happens very regularly. Will this go away after a while or is this a known issue?



  2. #2
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 110,400, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 14.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience PointsSocial
    ruxCYtable's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    4,210
    Points
    110,400
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 340
    Given: 364

    Re: DirectTV question

    Quote Originally Posted by 1100011CS View Post
    I just switched to DirectTV from DishNetwork. I'm really liking everything about it except one thing. The HD HBO channels seems to "freeze" a lot. It freezes for probably less than a second but happens very regularly. Will this go away after a while or is this a known issue?
    I've never known this to happen with DirecTV but it happens to my in-laws TV all the time, so much so it's just become a way of life for them (Mediacom).

    I would suggest you go to the DirecTV online forum and post your question. The people who post on there are EXCELLENT. Just go to DirecTV.com and under HELP select TECHNICAL FORUMS.



  3. #3
    Pro
    Points: 28,502, Level: 51
    Level completed: 87%, Points required for next Level: 148
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    Scott34's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Cedar Rapids
    Posts
    2,405
    Points
    28,502
    Level
    51
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 82
    Given: 51

    Re: DirectTV question

    I havent really noticed ours doing it a whole lot. It did a couple times. Wasn't ever bad enough that I did anything about it. My one compliant is trying to scroll the guide around 8-9 starts to suck. It basically freezes and doesn't do anything. I have called and complained about it but what they said was its basically a nationwide problem with the dvr's that is trying to resolved. Once they figure out what that problem is, there will be a new download program for it.


    "Its time to roll up our sleeves, put on our hard hats and go to work together"


  4. #4
    Speechless
    Points: 451,384, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 19.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience PointsOverdrive
    brianhos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Trenchtown
    Posts
    39,847
    Points
    451,384
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 358
    Given: 45

    Re: DirectTV question

    On all your DVR's or just one? I never have this issue.


    They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety. - Benjamin Franklin 1775

  5. #5
    Legend
    Points: 142,334, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 10.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Marshalltown
    Posts
    10,177
    Points
    142,334
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 210
    Given: 161

    Re: DirectTV question

    Quote Originally Posted by brianhos View Post
    On all your DVR's or just one? I never have this issue.
    I only have one DVR but it is happening on all the boxes/tvs



  6. #6
    Speechless
    Points: 271,455, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 8.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    isuno1fan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Clive, Iowa
    Posts
    17,520
    Points
    271,455
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 163
    Given: 36

    Re: DirectTV question

    Happens all the time, but used to it. Doesn't bother me.

    Also happens at my parents house.



  7. #7
    Speechless
    Points: 733,164, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 42.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience PointsOverdrive
    Cyclonepride's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    A pineapple under the sea
    Posts
    48,638
    Points
    733,164
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1,897
    Given: 899

    Re:DirectTV question

    Sounds like your signal could be a bit stronger (if I had to guess). You should be able to go into the set up menu and check it. When I had Dish, I went out and adjusted mine and added about ten percent to the signal strength (my installer was a clown, and just slapped it up and checked to make sure there was some sort of picture).

    I suppose it could be just some sort of synch/ delay too. Does it go out quickly in rain?



  8. #8
    Legend
    Points: 142,334, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 10.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Marshalltown
    Posts
    10,177
    Points
    142,334
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 210
    Given: 161

    Re: DirectTV question

    Quote Originally Posted by Cyclonepride View Post
    Sounds like your signal could be a bit stronger (if I had to guess). You should be able to go into the set up menu and check it. When I had Dish, I went out and adjusted mine and added about ten percent to the signal strength (my installer was a clown, and just slapped it up and checked to make sure there was some sort of picture).

    I suppose it could be just some sort of synch/ delay too. Does it go out quickly in rain?
    Yes, actually. The first day we got it we had a storm that night and it went out. It wasn't a particularly bad storm and my DishNetwork service wouldn't have went down from it. Guess I should call and have them come back out.



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • TV: FS1
  • FOOTBALL: Iowa State vs. West Virginia
  • November 29, 2014
  • 11:00 AM