Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

Thread: Century Link

  1. #1
    Pro
    Points: 28,869, Level: 52
    Level completed: 20%, Points required for next Level: 881
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    2,213
    Points
    28,869
    Level
    52
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 75
    Given: 110

    Century Link

    Any experience with Century Link internet ? I might have to switch from what I have now (Earthlink/Comcast) with Century Link if I want to get DirectTv.



  2. #2
    Starter
    Points: 23,576, Level: 47
    Level completed: 3%, Points required for next Level: 974
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Tri4Cy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Urbandale
    Posts
    617
    Points
    23,576
    Level
    47
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 92
    Given: 277

    Re: Century Link

    Quote Originally Posted by cyclone13 View Post
    Any experience with Century Link internet ? I might have to switch from what I have now (Earthlink/Comcast) with Century Link if I want to get DirectTv.
    I have Century Link and love it. I did everything I could to separate myself from MediaCom. They offer varying amounts of upload/download speeds so you can customize as well.



  3. #3
    All-Star
    Points: 27,832, Level: 51
    Level completed: 26%, Points required for next Level: 818
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    Ames's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    1,962
    Points
    27,832
    Level
    51
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 24
    Given: 0

    Re: Century Link

    It's fine. Reliable. Just too slow compared to Mediacom.



  4. #4
    Speechless
    Points: 294,961, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points
    chuckd4735's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ankeny, Iowa
    Posts
    17,081
    Points
    294,961
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 2,289
    Given: 446

    Re: Century Link

    I have had Century Link (formerly Qwest) for over 2 years and have never had a problem. However, all I really do with the net is browse around some sites and watch the occasional video.



  5. #5
    Rookie
    Points: 14,170, Level: 36
    Level completed: 15%, Points required for next Level: 680
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Monticello, IA
    Posts
    392
    Points
    14,170
    Level
    36
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: Century Link

    I've got Century Link and its been great. The wireless router you have to use doesn't seem to have the range of some of the top of the line ones you can get but the reason I have problems with it is because the router is in one corner of the house and my ps3 is in the basement on the opposite side of the house. I dont think you will be dissapointed with them especially if you have mediacom right now.



  6. #6
    Rookie
    Points: 14,594, Level: 36
    Level completed: 68%, Points required for next Level: 256
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Ankeny, IA
    Posts
    508
    Points
    14,594
    Level
    36
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 1

    Re: Century Link

    Switched from CenturyLink to Mediacom first of the year and am glad I did. We live on the outskirts of Ankeny and were still limited to 1.5 Mbps speeds. Got tired of it, so I switched when Mediacom had a special offer.



  7. #7
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 128,845, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience PointsSocial
    ruxCYtable's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    4,552
    Points
    128,845
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 723
    Given: 674

    Re: Century Link

    Mediacom is currently the only choice in my hood but as it grows I hope Century Link will become available. Speed is nice but reliability is more important to me as my wife works full-time from home. Has anyone had any reliability issues with Century Link?

    It would be nice to bundle my internet, phone and DirecTV again.



  8. #8
    Addict
    Points: 75,107, Level: 85
    Level completed: 16%, Points required for next Level: 1,443
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    cytech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Hiawatha, Iowa
    Posts
    6,278
    Points
    75,107
    Level
    85
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 52
    Given: 22

    Re: Century Link

    I have had century link now for almost a year. While I have not had issues with losing connection all together. At times the connects gets very slow and hard to do things. As soon as my contract is up I will paying the more money and switching back to Mediacom. I will leave my TV with Direct TV in all likely hood.

    Saving $15 a month is not worth have crappy internet.



  9. #9
    Addict
    Points: 59,095, Level: 75
    Level completed: 37%, Points required for next Level: 955
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    pulse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    5,183
    Points
    59,095
    Level
    75
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 192
    Given: 131

    Re: Century Link

    From an infrastructure perspective, I don't think they know what they're doing.



  10. #10
    Addict
    Points: 75,107, Level: 85
    Level completed: 16%, Points required for next Level: 1,443
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    cytech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Hiawatha, Iowa
    Posts
    6,278
    Points
    75,107
    Level
    85
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 52
    Given: 22

    Re: Century Link

    Quote Originally Posted by pulse View Post
    From an infrastructure perspective, I don't think they know what they're doing.
    This is the biggest thing right here. Each neighborhood is and can be different based on the type of infrastructure. Where one may be good with mediacom the next one over can be horrible.
    Both companies out out adding to and upgrading lines almost everyday of the week. It is not a cheap process and very time consuming. I would imagine within the next 10 years most everyone in metro areas will have fiber going to their homes. Of course by that time it will be time to start the process over again with new technology.



  11. #11
    Legend
    Points: 261,360, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Social50000 Experience PointsOverdriveVeteran

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    11,173
    Points
    261,360
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 10
    Given: 1

    Re: Century Link

    I have the 12 meg and that's all I need for what I do. It's fast enough for me. Comparable prices to competitors.


    Team Rainbo_

    Quote Originally Posted by VikesFan4Ever28 View Post
    You have almost 5 crap tons.

  12. #12
    All-Star
    Points: 27,370, Level: 50
    Level completed: 82%, Points required for next Level: 180
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    1,232
    Points
    27,370
    Level
    50
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 9
    Given: 0

    Re: Century Link

    My issue is I don't get very close to what I pay for as far as 7 Mbps with Centurylink. I would consider Mediacomm, but I am not interested in drilling more cables into my walls. Also, I went out and got a better router than they offer.



  13. #13
    Rookie
    Points: 13,399, Level: 35
    Level completed: 7%, Points required for next Level: 651
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    PhillipJCY's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    New New York
    Posts
    389
    Points
    13,399
    Level
    35
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 1

    Re: Century Link

    My parent's have Century Link and they bundle with DirecTV and home phone. It works just fine when I used it for gaming purposes and internet. It can be noticeably slow sometimes while watching videos, but usually performs well. The biggest gripe I had was the internet would cut off for 20-30 seconds when phone calls came in. It wasn't all the time, but it happened enough that I usually took the phone off the hook when I was using their internet.



  14. #14
    Walk On
    Points: 7,801, Level: 26
    Level completed: 42%, Points required for next Level: 349
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran5000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    150
    Points
    7,801
    Level
    26
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 30
    Given: 8

    Re: Century Link

    Quote Originally Posted by BooneCy View Post
    My issue is I don't get very close to what I pay for as far as 7 Mbps with Centurylink. I would consider Mediacomm, but I am not interested in drilling more cables into my walls. Also, I went out and got a better router than they offer.
    I live in one of the few developments in Iowa that now has fiber to the home. The ironic part is that CenturyLink treats it like the rest of their network. The latency is amazing as it is under 3 ms, but that is about the only benefit you get. I ended up switching back to Mediacom do to faster download speeds.



  15. #15
    Addict
    Points: 70,838, Level: 82
    Level completed: 64%, Points required for next Level: 612
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Northwest Arkansas
    Posts
    5,580
    Points
    70,838
    Level
    82
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 213
    Given: 208

    Re: Century Link

    I have Centurylink with fiber, anytime I have an issue I call in and the initial person taking the call usually has to get a supervisor because they have no idea what fiber is or how to help or where to direct my call. 7 years with it, and it's still "new" to the front-line agents. Still have had minimal problems, and when I do they have been pretty quick to resolve.



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • TV: Cyclones.TV
  • FOOTBALL: Iowa State vs. UNI
  • September 5, 2015
  • 07:00 PM