Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Pro
    Points: 46,791, Level: 66
    Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 159
    Overall activity: 18.0%
    Achievements:
    25000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Daserop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    The Bebop
    Posts
    2,653
    Points
    46,791
    Level
    66
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 114
    Given: 217

    Interent connection question

    I was originally using the modem Mediacom gave me for cable internet. Mediacom decided to start charging me for renting their modem. I gave them back theirs and replaced it with one of mine and gave Mediacom all the information they requested. However, now my I randomly lose my internet connection. Sometimes I donít lose the internet connection at all and other times 2-3 times a day. I get my connection back within 30 seconds to a minute. I would assume that the issue is the modem, because I only started having this problem once I switched modems. I would like verification that it is the modem or if could be something else. Thanks for the help.



  2. #2
    Addict
    Points: 180,756, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 9.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Marshalltown
    Posts
    9,903
    Points
    180,756
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 111
    Given: 107

    Re: Interent connection question

    It could be something else. Call Mediacom. @mediacomsupport on twitter is also a good resource. They can tell you if there are any outages in your area or if your signal is not good. If Mediacom says the signal looks good to your modem then you should start considering the modem and anything after that in your network.



  3. #3
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 71,687, Level: 83
    Level completed: 14%, Points required for next Level: 1,463
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    cyfan964's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    4 blocks from the Jack
    Posts
    4,523
    Points
    71,687
    Level
    83
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 46
    Given: 109

    Re: Interent connection question

    Quote Originally Posted by 1100011CS View Post
    It could be something else. Call Mediacom. @mediacomsupport on twitter is also a good resource. They can tell you if there are any outages in your area or if your signal is not good. If Mediacom says the signal looks good to your modem then you should start considering the modem and anything after that in your network.
    I'm currently having the same problem with my Mediacom. Do you live near campus? I've never had problems with my internet dropping connection, but have been having issues with it the past 2-3 weeks. I'm having someone come out on Saturday between 8 and 12. Nice 4 hour time span.

    I don't think it's the modem. Somethings up with Mediacom right now.


    Now that MBB is back, do we still have to pretend that WBB matters?

    -acgclone

  4. #4
    Pro
    Points: 46,791, Level: 66
    Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 159
    Overall activity: 18.0%
    Achievements:
    25000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Daserop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    The Bebop
    Posts
    2,653
    Points
    46,791
    Level
    66
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 114
    Given: 217

    Re: Interent connection question

    Quote Originally Posted by cyfan964 View Post
    I'm currently having the same problem with my Mediacom. Do you live near campus? I've never had problems with my internet dropping connection, but have been having issues with it the past 2-3 weeks. I'm having someone come out on Saturday between 8 and 12. Nice 4 hour time span.

    I don't think it's the modem. Somethings up with Mediacom right now.
    I live in Marion, IA so you may have have a separate issue. I have had this issue in the past (internet randomly disconnecting) and the problem was the internet cable line exiting the house/apartment was corroded which lead to a weak signal. However, I have a hard time believing this is my problem because the house I live in is only a year old and the cable line is only a year old as well.....



  5. #5
    Pro
    Points: 46,791, Level: 66
    Level completed: 89%, Points required for next Level: 159
    Overall activity: 18.0%
    Achievements:
    25000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Daserop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    The Bebop
    Posts
    2,653
    Points
    46,791
    Level
    66
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 114
    Given: 217

    Re: Interent connection question

    Quote Originally Posted by 1100011CS View Post
    It could be something else. Call Mediacom. @mediacomsupport on twitter is also a good resource. They can tell you if there are any outages in your area or if your signal is not good. If Mediacom says the signal looks good to your modem then you should start considering the modem and anything after that in your network.
    I will give their tech support a call. Better safe than sorry. I assumed that since I have not had any issues at all until this point I figured it was modem.



  6. #6
    Addict
    Points: 97,215, Level: 97
    Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 1,835
    Overall activity: 8.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    Clonefan94's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Schaumburg, IL
    Posts
    5,957
    Points
    97,215
    Level
    97
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 114
    Given: 43

    Re: Interent connection question

    I had a similar problem. Turns out I had some cracks in my line from the box on my house to the inside. Also, the modem my cable company had originally given me, was for phone also. The modems priority is for phone, so whenever the signal would drop a little bit, it would cut off my internet and give it all to the phone, even though I didn't have phone through them.

    The worst part about it is, when they first came out, of course it was all my fualt. Too many inside connections with not enough good splitters, etc. (They installed everything BTW) Charged me $50 to rewire the house becaue that was the problem. 10 Minutes after the guy left, the internet went out again. They'be been good since then since I called them about as ****** off as anyone could be. Demanding the guy turn around and at least give me my check back. The part I was ****** most about, is that my TV and internet lines are separate. I paid for the extra feed when I had it installed. And I told the guy this, yet he did the classic "Milk $50" from the customer. He gave me a bunch of tech mumbo jumbo and it sounded legit that the signal could get bouced back to the main block where the signal was.

    Ah, anyways, I digress. Basically, you sound like you are having the exact problem I was having. It could be the modem, but more than likely it's a connection somewhere that isn't tight or your wire to your house could have the sheathing coming apart.



  7. #7
    Speechless
    Points: 646,614, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 34.0%
    Achievements:
    50000 Experience PointsVeteranOverdrive
    3TrueFans's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ames
    Posts
    23,790
    Points
    646,614
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1,448
    Given: 135

    Re: Interent connection question

    Mediacom posted this on their support forum the other day, could be relevant depending on the modem you have.

    There is a known issue with Arris and Motorola DOCSIS 2.0 modems (Arris 402, Arris 502, Arris 602, Motrorola SB3000 series, SB4000 series, SB5000 series). These modems are resetting during heavy downloading. We are working to push a new version of firmware out over the next few days that should correct this problem.

    Thank you for your patience and understanding. If you have any additional questions, feel free to contact any of the moderators on our support forum.



  8. #8
    Swarm & Punish
    Points: 285,173, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 74.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points
    keepngoal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    19,644
    Points
    285,173
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 359
    Given: 651

    Re: Interent connection question

    Quote Originally Posted by 3TrueFans View Post
    Mediacom posted this on their support forum the other day, could be relevant depending on the modem you have.
    There is a known issue with Arris and Motorola DOCSIS 2.0 modems (Arris 402, Arris 502, Arris 602, Motrorola SB3000 series, SB4000 series, SB5000 series). These modems are resetting during heavy PORN USE. We are working to push a new version of firmware out over the next few days that should correct this problem.

    Thank you for your patience and understanding. If you have any additional questions, feel free to contact any of the moderators on our support forum.


    -keep


    The first and best victory is to conquer self; to be conquered by self is of all things most shameful and vile. - Plato

    May you only need 39 acres to turn your rig around. - keep

  9. #9
    Speechless
    Points: 646,614, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 34.0%
    Achievements:
    50000 Experience PointsVeteranOverdrive
    3TrueFans's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ames
    Posts
    23,790
    Points
    646,614
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1,448
    Given: 135

    Re: Interent connection question

    Quote Originally Posted by keepngoal View Post


    -keep
    Don't ask, don't tell.



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • Football
  • Iowa State vs. North Dakota State
  • August 30, 2014
  • 11:00 AM