Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Starter
    Points: 38,900, Level: 60
    Level completed: 88%, Points required for next Level: 150
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran25000 Experience Points
    AllBig12Drinker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    West Des Moines
    Posts
    705
    Points
    38,900
    Level
    60
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 17
    Given: 10

    Technical Help-Sony Bravia

    I have been searching all over the internet with no luck so I'm gonna take a stab here.

    I have a Sony Bravia, it's hooked up to a Bose 321 Series II. My problem is the Sony is defaulting to 480 SD when I watch DVD's. I can't figure out how to adjust it to HD. The Bose doesn't have HDMI, it uses YPbPr for the input.

    I know on my last TV that I had hooked to the Bose, it played DVD's in HD (or at least I remember it that way).

    TIA for the help.



  2. #2
    Speechless
    Points: 452,425, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 28.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience PointsOverdrive
    brianhos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Trenchtown
    Posts
    39,689
    Points
    452,425
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 249
    Given: 35

    Re: Technical Help-Sony Bravia

    Can you go into that inputs setting and tell it the only mode available is 1080i/p? That is how I force set my Bravia LED.


    They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety. - Benjamin Franklin 1775

  3. #3
    Speechless
    Points: 646,945, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 55.0%
    Achievements:
    50000 Experience PointsVeteranOverdrive
    3TrueFans's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ames
    Posts
    23,878
    Points
    646,945
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1,503
    Given: 142

    Re: Technical Help-Sony Bravia

    I think you might be misremembering, google tells me that player doesn't upscale. I'm not sure if you can upscale through component, but I'm admittedly not up to date on that kind of thing.



  4. #4
    Starter
    Points: 38,900, Level: 60
    Level completed: 88%, Points required for next Level: 150
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran25000 Experience Points
    AllBig12Drinker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    West Des Moines
    Posts
    705
    Points
    38,900
    Level
    60
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 17
    Given: 10

    Re: Technical Help-Sony Bravia

    Quote Originally Posted by brianhos View Post
    Can you go into that inputs setting and tell it the only mode available is 1080i/p? That is how I force set my Bravia LED.
    That's what I've been trying to do but can't figure out how to. Even took the time to read through the owners manual.



  5. #5
    Starter
    Points: 38,900, Level: 60
    Level completed: 88%, Points required for next Level: 150
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran25000 Experience Points
    AllBig12Drinker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    West Des Moines
    Posts
    705
    Points
    38,900
    Level
    60
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 17
    Given: 10

    Re: Technical Help-Sony Bravia

    Quote Originally Posted by 3TrueFans View Post
    I think you might be misremembering, google tells me that player doesn't upscale. I'm not sure if you can upscale through component, but I'm admittedly not up to date on that kind of thing.
    You might be right. I may just have to upgrade. Thanks for the input.



  6. #6
    Speechless
    Points: 646,945, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 55.0%
    Achievements:
    50000 Experience PointsVeteranOverdrive
    3TrueFans's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ames
    Posts
    23,878
    Points
    646,945
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1,503
    Given: 142

    Re: Technical Help-Sony Bravia

    Even took the time to read through the owners manual.
    Well now we know it's serious, that's a last resort.



  7. #7
    All-Star
    Points: 38,106, Level: 60
    Level completed: 22%, Points required for next Level: 944
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    ISU_phoria's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Andover, MN
    Posts
    1,875
    Points
    38,106
    Level
    60
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 13
    Given: 1

    Re: Technical Help-Sony Bravia

    Sounds like its your DVD player, not the TV.

    The TV should accept whatever signal it receives as long as its capable of doing so.



  8. #8
    All-Star
    Points: 23,444, Level: 46
    Level completed: 90%, Points required for next Level: 106
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Ames
    Posts
    1,839
    Points
    23,444
    Level
    46
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 7
    Given: 20

    Re: Technical Help-Sony Bravia

    Don't bother upgrading a dvd player to get upscaling. Only bother if you jump to blu-ray. Upscaling is practically a scam on dvd players. Dvds are standard def. Your HD tv does the upscaling. The only possible benefit is if the dvd player happens to do a better job (or I suppose if the dvd player is really old or cheap or just horrible). But really - there's only so much that can be done when the source is standard def.



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • TV: Fox Sports 1
  • Iowa State vs. Kansas State
  • September 6, 2014
  • 11:00 AM