Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Hugs4ISU
    Guest

    ESPN3's "blackouts" don't make any sense

    Here is the blackout for the ISU@Missouri game:





    It seems like ESPN3's blackout areas seldom have any relation to the game. I think the KSU@ISU game was blacked out in far western Nebraska and extreme eastern Iowa, well away from either Manhattan, KS or Ames.



  2. #2
    Addict
    Points: 93,595, Level: 95
    Level completed: 24%, Points required for next Level: 1,455
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    cytech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Hiawatha, Iowa
    Posts
    6,203
    Points
    93,595
    Level
    95
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 11
    Given: 7

    Re: ESPN3's "blackouts" don't make any sense

    NOOOOOOOO that means no way to watch the game in CR guess I will have to add the sports pak with directv



  3. #3
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 76,569, Level: 86
    Level completed: 2%, Points required for next Level: 1,781
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    gogagig's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    3,638
    Points
    76,569
    Level
    86
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 128
    Given: 21

    Re: ESPN3's "blackouts" don't make any sense

    Usually when espn3 is blacked out in my region i use an installed proxy software like hotspot shield. If you have a nice internet connection, the reduced speed when using the proxy does not effect the stream.



  4. #4
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 69,675, Level: 81
    Level completed: 96%, Points required for next Level: 75
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    Jordanj6502's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Ames
    Posts
    3,696
    Points
    69,675
    Level
    81
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 63
    Given: 20

    Re: ESPN3's "blackouts" don't make any sense

    Well, it is broadcast in NYC on YES Network and I assume a similar network in LA.

    Maybe those networks have more pull than say WOI-5 and can get it blacked out on ESPN for their region?



  5. #5
    Addict
    Points: 78,359, Level: 87
    Level completed: 1%, Points required for next Level: 1,791
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Chicago, Il
    Posts
    6,283
    Points
    78,359
    Level
    87
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 56
    Given: 15

    Re: ESPN3's "blackouts" don't make any sense

    Quote Originally Posted by cytech View Post
    NOOOOOOOO that means no way to watch the game in CR guess I will have to add the sports pak with directv
    It's not Sports Pak...it's ESPN Full Court. They're two different things. If you add Sports Pak, you won't be seeing it either most likely unless one of the FSNs are showing the game...which is usually not the case. I think this game is a Big 12 Network game, so there is a possibility of this happening. Might want to check first before adding SP.



  6. #6
    Recruit
    Points: 8,251, Level: 27
    Level completed: 17%, Points required for next Level: 499
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran5000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    78
    Points
    8,251
    Level
    27
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 41

    Re: ESPN3's "blackouts" don't make any sense

    Quote Originally Posted by marothisu View Post
    It's not Sports Pak...it's ESPN Full Court. They're two different things. If you add Sports Pak, you won't be seeing it either most likely unless one of the FSNs are showing the game...which is usually not the case. I think this game is a Big 12 Network game, so there is a possibility of this happening. Might want to check first before adding SP.
    I have the sport pack on DishNetwork and I believe it's on channel 420 according to the guide.



  7. #7
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 58,596, Level: 75
    Level completed: 4%, Points required for next Level: 1,454
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    4,367
    Points
    58,596
    Level
    75
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 36
    Given: 0

    Re: ESPN3's "blackouts" don't make any sense

    Quote Originally Posted by marothisu View Post
    It's not Sports Pak...it's ESPN Full Court. They're two different things. If you add Sports Pak, you won't be seeing it either most likely unless one of the FSNs are showing the game...which is usually not the case. I think this game is a Big 12 Network game, so there is a possibility of this happening. Might want to check first before adding SP.
    Directv has it on the YES network, which explains the blackout in the NY area.

    Plus, it will be on ESPN3 in Iowa.



  8. #8
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 52,590, Level: 71
    Level completed: 3%, Points required for next Level: 1,460
    Overall activity: 14.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    3,770
    Points
    52,590
    Level
    71
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 149
    Given: 246

    Re: ESPN3's "blackouts" don't make any sense

    K St was blocked out in Colorado, why?



  9. #9
    Addict
    Points: 78,359, Level: 87
    Level completed: 1%, Points required for next Level: 1,791
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Chicago, Il
    Posts
    6,283
    Points
    78,359
    Level
    87
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 56
    Given: 15

    Re: ESPN3's "blackouts" don't make any sense

    Quote Originally Posted by 2Xclone View Post
    I have the sport pack on DishNetwork and I believe it's on channel 420 according to the guide.
    We're talking about DirecTV, not DishNetwork. The packages are different.



  10. #10
    Addict
    Points: 78,359, Level: 87
    Level completed: 1%, Points required for next Level: 1,791
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Chicago, Il
    Posts
    6,283
    Points
    78,359
    Level
    87
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 56
    Given: 15

    Re: ESPN3's "blackouts" don't make any sense

    Quote Originally Posted by clone52 View Post
    Directv has it on the YES network, which explains the blackout in the NY area.

    Plus, it will be on ESPN3 in Iowa.
    Good to know it's on YES if it's in HD. I have Full Court and the games are never in HD and painful to watch sometimes.



  11. #11
    Pro
    Points: 58,504, Level: 74
    Level completed: 97%, Points required for next Level: 46
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    intrepid27's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Marion, IA
    Posts
    2,600
    Points
    58,504
    Level
    74
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 110
    Given: 108

    Re: ESPN3's "blackouts" don't make any sense

    Quote Originally Posted by cytech View Post
    NOOOOOOOO that means no way to watch the game in CR guess I will have to add the sports pak with directv
    I just got email from Laurie King and she said it will be on at Daniel Arthurs



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • TV: FS1
  • Iowa State @ Oklahoma State
  • October 4, 2014
  • 11:00 AM