Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Hugs4ISU
    Guest

    ESPN3's "blackouts" don't make any sense

    Here is the blackout for the ISU@Missouri game:





    It seems like ESPN3's blackout areas seldom have any relation to the game. I think the KSU@ISU game was blacked out in far western Nebraska and extreme eastern Iowa, well away from either Manhattan, KS or Ames.



  2. #2
    Addict
    Points: 77,215, Level: 86
    Level completed: 37%, Points required for next Level: 1,135
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    cytech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Hiawatha, Iowa
    Posts
    6,313
    Points
    77,215
    Level
    86
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 90
    Given: 30

    Re: ESPN3's "blackouts" don't make any sense

    NOOOOOOOO that means no way to watch the game in CR guess I will have to add the sports pak with directv



  3. #3
    Addict
    Points: 117,866, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 54.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    gogagig's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    6,373
    Points
    117,866
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 2,425
    Given: 1,071

    Re: ESPN3's "blackouts" don't make any sense

    Usually when espn3 is blacked out in my region i use an installed proxy software like hotspot shield. If you have a nice internet connection, the reduced speed when using the proxy does not effect the stream.



  4. #4
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 81,659, Level: 88
    Level completed: 84%, Points required for next Level: 291
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    Jordanj6502's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Ames
    Posts
    4,071
    Points
    81,659
    Level
    88
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 143
    Given: 60

    Re: ESPN3's "blackouts" don't make any sense

    Well, it is broadcast in NYC on YES Network and I assume a similar network in LA.

    Maybe those networks have more pull than say WOI-5 and can get it blacked out on ESPN for their region?



  5. #5
    Addict
    Points: 84,602, Level: 90
    Level completed: 48%, Points required for next Level: 948
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    NYC/Chicago
    Posts
    6,659
    Points
    84,602
    Level
    90
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 225
    Given: 62

    Re: ESPN3's "blackouts" don't make any sense

    Quote Originally Posted by cytech View Post
    NOOOOOOOO that means no way to watch the game in CR guess I will have to add the sports pak with directv
    It's not Sports Pak...it's ESPN Full Court. They're two different things. If you add Sports Pak, you won't be seeing it either most likely unless one of the FSNs are showing the game...which is usually not the case. I think this game is a Big 12 Network game, so there is a possibility of this happening. Might want to check first before adding SP.



  6. #6
    Recruit
    Points: 9,359, Level: 29
    Level completed: 2%, Points required for next Level: 591
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran5000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    106
    Points
    9,359
    Level
    29
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 15
    Given: 673

    Re: ESPN3's "blackouts" don't make any sense

    Quote Originally Posted by marothisu View Post
    It's not Sports Pak...it's ESPN Full Court. They're two different things. If you add Sports Pak, you won't be seeing it either most likely unless one of the FSNs are showing the game...which is usually not the case. I think this game is a Big 12 Network game, so there is a possibility of this happening. Might want to check first before adding SP.
    I have the sport pack on DishNetwork and I believe it's on channel 420 according to the guide.



  7. #7
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 66,123, Level: 79
    Level completed: 80%, Points required for next Level: 327
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    4,837
    Points
    66,123
    Level
    79
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 250
    Given: 12

    Re: ESPN3's "blackouts" don't make any sense

    Quote Originally Posted by marothisu View Post
    It's not Sports Pak...it's ESPN Full Court. They're two different things. If you add Sports Pak, you won't be seeing it either most likely unless one of the FSNs are showing the game...which is usually not the case. I think this game is a Big 12 Network game, so there is a possibility of this happening. Might want to check first before adding SP.
    Directv has it on the YES network, which explains the blackout in the NY area.

    Plus, it will be on ESPN3 in Iowa.



  8. #8
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 70,825, Level: 82
    Level completed: 64%, Points required for next Level: 625
    Overall activity: 8.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    2020cy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    4,323
    Points
    70,825
    Level
    82
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 390
    Given: 764

    Re: ESPN3's "blackouts" don't make any sense

    K St was blocked out in Colorado, why?



  9. #9
    Addict
    Points: 84,602, Level: 90
    Level completed: 48%, Points required for next Level: 948
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    NYC/Chicago
    Posts
    6,659
    Points
    84,602
    Level
    90
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 225
    Given: 62

    Re: ESPN3's "blackouts" don't make any sense

    Quote Originally Posted by 2Xclone View Post
    I have the sport pack on DishNetwork and I believe it's on channel 420 according to the guide.
    We're talking about DirecTV, not DishNetwork. The packages are different.



  10. #10
    Addict
    Points: 84,602, Level: 90
    Level completed: 48%, Points required for next Level: 948
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    NYC/Chicago
    Posts
    6,659
    Points
    84,602
    Level
    90
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 225
    Given: 62

    Re: ESPN3's "blackouts" don't make any sense

    Quote Originally Posted by clone52 View Post
    Directv has it on the YES network, which explains the blackout in the NY area.

    Plus, it will be on ESPN3 in Iowa.
    Good to know it's on YES if it's in HD. I have Full Court and the games are never in HD and painful to watch sometimes.



  11. #11
    Pro
    Points: 73,807, Level: 84
    Level completed: 39%, Points required for next Level: 1,043
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    intrepid27's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Marion, IA
    Posts
    2,996
    Points
    73,807
    Level
    84
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 403
    Given: 501

    Re: ESPN3's "blackouts" don't make any sense

    Quote Originally Posted by cytech View Post
    NOOOOOOOO that means no way to watch the game in CR guess I will have to add the sports pak with directv
    I just got email from Laurie King and she said it will be on at Daniel Arthurs



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • TV: ESPN
  • HOOPS: Iowa State vs. Texas
  • February 13, 2016
  • 07:30 PM