Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Hugs4ISU
    Guest

    ESPN3's "blackouts" don't make any sense

    Here is the blackout for the ISU@Missouri game:





    It seems like ESPN3's blackout areas seldom have any relation to the game. I think the KSU@ISU game was blacked out in far western Nebraska and extreme eastern Iowa, well away from either Manhattan, KS or Ames.



  2. #2
    Addict
    Points: 93,595, Level: 95
    Level completed: 24%, Points required for next Level: 1,455
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    cytech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Hiawatha, Iowa
    Posts
    6,203
    Points
    93,595
    Level
    95
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 11
    Given: 8

    Re: ESPN3's "blackouts" don't make any sense

    NOOOOOOOO that means no way to watch the game in CR guess I will have to add the sports pak with directv



  3. #3
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 81,700, Level: 88
    Level completed: 87%, Points required for next Level: 250
    Overall activity: 32.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    gogagig's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    3,800
    Points
    81,700
    Level
    88
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 203
    Given: 55

    Re: ESPN3's "blackouts" don't make any sense

    Usually when espn3 is blacked out in my region i use an installed proxy software like hotspot shield. If you have a nice internet connection, the reduced speed when using the proxy does not effect the stream.



  4. #4
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 69,835, Level: 82
    Level completed: 5%, Points required for next Level: 1,615
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    Jordanj6502's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Ames
    Posts
    3,707
    Points
    69,835
    Level
    82
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 63
    Given: 21

    Re: ESPN3's "blackouts" don't make any sense

    Well, it is broadcast in NYC on YES Network and I assume a similar network in LA.

    Maybe those networks have more pull than say WOI-5 and can get it blacked out on ESPN for their region?



  5. #5
    Addict
    Points: 78,429, Level: 87
    Level completed: 5%, Points required for next Level: 1,721
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Chicago, Il
    Posts
    6,284
    Points
    78,429
    Level
    87
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 56
    Given: 15

    Re: ESPN3's "blackouts" don't make any sense

    Quote Originally Posted by cytech View Post
    NOOOOOOOO that means no way to watch the game in CR guess I will have to add the sports pak with directv
    It's not Sports Pak...it's ESPN Full Court. They're two different things. If you add Sports Pak, you won't be seeing it either most likely unless one of the FSNs are showing the game...which is usually not the case. I think this game is a Big 12 Network game, so there is a possibility of this happening. Might want to check first before adding SP.



  6. #6
    Recruit
    Points: 8,300, Level: 27
    Level completed: 25%, Points required for next Level: 450
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran5000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    80
    Points
    8,300
    Level
    27
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 3
    Given: 82

    Re: ESPN3's "blackouts" don't make any sense

    Quote Originally Posted by marothisu View Post
    It's not Sports Pak...it's ESPN Full Court. They're two different things. If you add Sports Pak, you won't be seeing it either most likely unless one of the FSNs are showing the game...which is usually not the case. I think this game is a Big 12 Network game, so there is a possibility of this happening. Might want to check first before adding SP.
    I have the sport pack on DishNetwork and I believe it's on channel 420 according to the guide.



  7. #7
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 58,637, Level: 75
    Level completed: 6%, Points required for next Level: 1,413
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    4,370
    Points
    58,637
    Level
    75
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 39
    Given: 0

    Re: ESPN3's "blackouts" don't make any sense

    Quote Originally Posted by marothisu View Post
    It's not Sports Pak...it's ESPN Full Court. They're two different things. If you add Sports Pak, you won't be seeing it either most likely unless one of the FSNs are showing the game...which is usually not the case. I think this game is a Big 12 Network game, so there is a possibility of this happening. Might want to check first before adding SP.
    Directv has it on the YES network, which explains the blackout in the NY area.

    Plus, it will be on ESPN3 in Iowa.



  8. #8
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 52,789, Level: 71
    Level completed: 16%, Points required for next Level: 1,261
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    3,812
    Points
    52,789
    Level
    71
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 158
    Given: 263

    Re: ESPN3's "blackouts" don't make any sense

    K St was blocked out in Colorado, why?



  9. #9
    Addict
    Points: 78,429, Level: 87
    Level completed: 5%, Points required for next Level: 1,721
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Chicago, Il
    Posts
    6,284
    Points
    78,429
    Level
    87
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 56
    Given: 15

    Re: ESPN3's "blackouts" don't make any sense

    Quote Originally Posted by 2Xclone View Post
    I have the sport pack on DishNetwork and I believe it's on channel 420 according to the guide.
    We're talking about DirecTV, not DishNetwork. The packages are different.



  10. #10
    Addict
    Points: 78,429, Level: 87
    Level completed: 5%, Points required for next Level: 1,721
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Chicago, Il
    Posts
    6,284
    Points
    78,429
    Level
    87
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 56
    Given: 15

    Re: ESPN3's "blackouts" don't make any sense

    Quote Originally Posted by clone52 View Post
    Directv has it on the YES network, which explains the blackout in the NY area.

    Plus, it will be on ESPN3 in Iowa.
    Good to know it's on YES if it's in HD. I have Full Court and the games are never in HD and painful to watch sometimes.



  11. #11
    Pro
    Points: 58,724, Level: 75
    Level completed: 12%, Points required for next Level: 1,326
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    intrepid27's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Marion, IA
    Posts
    2,622
    Points
    58,724
    Level
    75
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 127
    Given: 124

    Re: ESPN3's "blackouts" don't make any sense

    Quote Originally Posted by cytech View Post
    NOOOOOOOO that means no way to watch the game in CR guess I will have to add the sports pak with directv
    I just got email from Laurie King and she said it will be on at Daniel Arthurs



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • TV: TBD
  • Iowa State vs. Oklahoma
  • November 1, 2014
  • 07:00 PM