Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 34
  1. #1
    Addict
    Points: 131,697, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 24.0%
    Achievements:
    50000 Experience PointsSocialVeteran
    ISUCyclones2015's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Ames via Akron, Ohio
    Posts
    5,422
    Points
    131,697
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 406
    Given: 139

    Why does ESPN HD on Mediacom look like crap?

    I got a new T.V. for Christmas and hooked it up back home and all my channels look great, including ESPN.

    I come back to school and hook up my T.V. and all the channels look great (in HD) except ESPN 55-5. What gives?

    The audio is even out of sync with the video.



  2. #2
    Pro
    Points: 99,387, Level: 98
    Level completed: 17%, Points required for next Level: 1,663
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    FDWxMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Des Moines
    Posts
    2,195
    Points
    99,387
    Level
    98
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 33
    Given: 22

    Re: Why does ESPN HD on Mediacom look like crap?

    Quote Originally Posted by ISUCyclones2015 View Post
    I got a new T.V. for Christmas and hooked it up back home and all my channels look great, including ESPN.

    I come back to school and hook up my T.V. and all the channels look great (in HD) except ESPN 55-5. What gives?

    The audio is even out of sync with the video.
    55-5 isn't HD it's only "digital". You have to have a digital box for HD. ESPN is 830



  3. #3
    Speechless
    Points: 646,916, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 50.0%
    Achievements:
    50000 Experience PointsVeteranOverdrive
    3TrueFans's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ames
    Posts
    23,872
    Points
    646,916
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1,498
    Given: 142

    Re: Why does ESPN HD on Mediacom look like crap?

    Quote Originally Posted by FDWxMan View Post
    55-5 isn't HD it's only "digital". You have to have a digital box for HD. ESPN is 830
    What he said. 55-5 should look marginally better than 35 though in theory. I have noticed the out of sync sound when watching on my bedroom tv that doesn't get HD channels, but the HD channel in the living room doesn't have that problem.



  4. #4
    Addict
    Points: 131,697, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 24.0%
    Achievements:
    50000 Experience PointsSocialVeteran
    ISUCyclones2015's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Ames via Akron, Ohio
    Posts
    5,422
    Points
    131,697
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 406
    Given: 139

    Re: Why does ESPN HD on Mediacom look like crap?

    Quote Originally Posted by FDWxMan View Post
    55-5 isn't HD it's only "digital". You have to have a digital box for HD. ESPN is 830
    Well that makes sense. This audio sync issue will tick me off though.


    Last edited by ISUCyclones2015; 01-08-2012 at 11:36 AM.

  5. #5
    Pro
    Points: 150,605, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    Social50000 Experience PointsVeteran
    iahawkhunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Grimes, IA
    Posts
    2,760
    Points
    150,605
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 7
    Given: 15

    Re: Why does ESPN HD on Mediacom look like crap?

    Quote Originally Posted by 3TrueFans View Post
    What he said. 55-5 should look marginally better than 35 though in theory. I have noticed the out of sync sound when watching on my bedroom tv that doesn't get HD channels, but the HD channel in the living room doesn't have that problem.
    I've also noticed the audio sync issue on 55-5. Usually it isn't a problem since a slight delay in game sounds isn't a big deal. I ignore most of the talking heads anyway, so the sync issue wasn't too noticeable. Thankfully I could adjust my audio sync if it ever got too annoying.

    I'd call the difference between 35 and 55-5 better than "marginal", though (just my opinion). Sure it's not high def, but it at least allows the picture to look decent on a large screen.


    Quote Originally Posted by im4cyclones View Post
    [Anything] is easy if you are content to suck at it.

  6. #6
    Pro
    Points: 55,041, Level: 72
    Level completed: 67%, Points required for next Level: 509
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    AlleyAddict's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Ames
    Posts
    2,608
    Points
    55,041
    Level
    72
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: Why does ESPN HD on Mediacom look like crap?

    You can get a cable box from a place in ames for like $8 a month if you really want the HD.



  7. #7
    Addict
    Points: 131,697, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 24.0%
    Achievements:
    50000 Experience PointsSocialVeteran
    ISUCyclones2015's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Ames via Akron, Ohio
    Posts
    5,422
    Points
    131,697
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 406
    Given: 139

    Re: Why does ESPN HD on Mediacom look like crap?

    Quote Originally Posted by AlleyAddict View Post
    You can get a cable box from a place in ames for like $8 a month if you really want the HD.
    So $8 a month gets me all the channels above 100 or so? That isn't too bad of a deal. Same as Netflix, could just get rid of Netflix and do that instead.



  8. #8
    Speechless
    Points: 405,030, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    alarson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    West Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    21,109
    Points
    405,030
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 277
    Given: 118

    Re: Why does ESPN HD on Mediacom look like crap?

    Quote Originally Posted by ISUCyclones2015 View Post
    So $8 a month gets me all the channels above 100 or so? That isn't too bad of a deal. Same as Netflix, could just get rid of Netflix and do that instead.
    Not quite. You'll just get the HD versions of the channels youre already getting. A bunch of other channels in the digital plus\sports\premium packs without additional subscriptions.



  9. #9
    Addict
    Points: 98,843, Level: 97
    Level completed: 90%, Points required for next Level: 207
    Overall activity: 11.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    Clonefan94's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Schaumburg, IL
    Posts
    5,976
    Points
    98,843
    Level
    97
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 131
    Given: 46

    Re: Why does ESPN HD on Mediacom look like crap?

    I love how this HD thing worked out for everyone. The government mandates that everyone must broadcast in HD, then the cable companies get to charge you extra to receive the HD signal that's already being sent out from the stations. Essentially, the cable companies are getting the signal, downsampling it, then charging you to upscale it again to HD. Beautiful. If it wasn't for my wife, I wouldn't be paying for TV at all.



  10. #10
    Speechless
    Points: 559,873, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 9.0%
    Achievements:
    Social50000 Experience PointsOverdriveVeteranRecommendation Second Class
    ISUAgronomist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Back in Iowa!!!!!!!!
    Posts
    21,311
    Points
    559,873
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 177
    Given: 98

    Re: Why does ESPN HD on Mediacom look like crap?

    Quote Originally Posted by Clonefan94 View Post
    I love how this HD thing worked out for everyone. The government mandates that everyone must broadcast in HD, then the cable companies get to charge you extra to receive the HD signal that's already being sent out from the stations. Essentially, the cable companies are getting the signal, downsampling it, then charging you to upscale it again to HD. Beautiful. If it wasn't for my wife, I wouldn't be paying for TV at all.
    Technically your statement is not correct.

    The government made local stations go digital. Cable companies cannot scramble these channels and you can get them free OTA. If you have a QAM tuner in your TV you get the channels even without cable service (hook up to Mediacom line in house w/o paying).

    The subscription channels were not affected by the government. They chose to offer HD service and you can choose to pay for it or not.


    Last edited by ISUAgronomist; 01-08-2012 at 01:18 PM.


  11. #11
    Addict
    Points: 98,843, Level: 97
    Level completed: 90%, Points required for next Level: 207
    Overall activity: 11.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    Clonefan94's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Schaumburg, IL
    Posts
    5,976
    Points
    98,843
    Level
    97
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 131
    Given: 46

    Re: Why does ESPN HD on Mediacom look like crap?

    Quote Originally Posted by ISUAgronomist View Post
    Technically your statement is not correct.

    The government made local stations go HD. Cable companies cannot scramble these channels and you can get them free OTA. If you have a QAM tuner in your TV you get the channels even without cable service (hook up to Mediacom line in house w/o paying).

    The subscription channels were not affected by the government. They chose to offer HD service and you can choose to pay for it or not.
    OK, never looked into it that far. Good info. Either way though, most channels are HD now. So why aren't we just automatically given them?

    I was never blown away enough by HD to really get that involved in it. My first HD TV was purchased because there wasn't anything else available when I had to purchase another TV.

    None the less, the whole HD and digital revolution has been more of a money grab by cable companies than anything else. I still don't find myself enjoying football games any more in HD than I did pre-HD.

    I do notice a difference, don't get me wrong, it just doesn't really improve my enjoyment of the programming. The only real benefit I have to owning an HD TV, is with playing video games.



  12. #12
    Legend
    Points: 165,501, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 60.0%
    Achievements:
    50000 Experience PointsVeteran
    HFCS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    10,891
    Points
    165,501
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 696
    Given: 563

    Re: Why does ESPN HD on Mediacom look like crap?

    Quote Originally Posted by ISUCyclones2015 View Post
    I got a new T.V. for Christmas and hooked it up back home and all my channels look great, including ESPN.

    I come back to school and hook up my T.V. and all the channels look great (in HD) except ESPN 55-5. What gives?

    The audio is even out of sync with the video.
    I watched Texas and Texas A&M in "HD" on ESPN3 or whatever they claim HD streaming is.

    The Texas game looked pretty amazing for an online stream. The A&M game looked like standard def crap even though ESPN3 showed I had the highest quality connection speed and picture. Also the aspect ratio of the Texas game broadcast was 16:9 and the A&M game was the old square look.

    I think maybe the crew at A&M didn't even shoot in HD. If they did the footage wasn't provided to espn3.



  13. #13
    Speechless
    Points: 405,030, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    alarson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    West Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    21,109
    Points
    405,030
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 277
    Given: 118

    Re: Why does ESPN HD on Mediacom look like crap?

    Quote Originally Posted by Clonefan94 View Post
    OK, never looked into it that far. Good info. Either way though, most channels are HD now. So why aren't we just automatically given them?

    I was never blown away enough by HD to really get that involved in it. My first HD TV was purchased because there wasn't anything else available when I had to purchase another TV.

    None the less, the whole HD and digital revolution has been more of a money grab by cable companies than anything else. I still don't find myself enjoying football games any more in HD than I did pre-HD.

    I do notice a difference, don't get me wrong, it just doesn't really improve my enjoyment of the programming. The only real benefit I have to owning an HD TV, is with playing video games.
    Theyre really just charging you for the box. If you want to provide your own box, you can get your own (like a TiVo) and only have to pay for the cablecard that accesses mediacom's network ($2\month). That's what i do.

    Word is when mediacom goes all digital they'll be moving all their HDs to clear qam though, which is better than what most other systems are doing.



  14. #14
    Speechless
    Points: 471,325, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 54.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    jdoggivjc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Sterling Heights, MI
    Posts
    31,843
    Points
    471,325
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 573
    Given: 396

    Re: Why does ESPN HD on Mediacom look like crap?

    Quote Originally Posted by ISUAgronomist View Post
    Technically your statement is not correct.

    The government made local stations go HD. Cable companies cannot scramble these channels and you can get them free OTA. If you have a QAM tuner in your TV you get the channels even without cable service (hook up to Mediacom line in house w/o paying).

    The subscription channels were not affected by the government. They chose to offer HD service and you can choose to pay for it or not.
    I thought it was the government actually made the local stations go DIGITAL, not HD. First, the vast majority of HD programming a local station gets is from their parent network, not from the local station itself. Which means about the only thing a local station would be responsible for producing for air would be local programming, such as the local news. Second, if all stations had to be in HD, then WHBF would be noncompliant as none of their local programming is in true HD.

    In fact, here you go:
    Digital television transition in the United States - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia


    Chuck Lidell: I paint my toenails with pink and black polish. Problem is, I get more paint on my toes and on the carpet than on my nails. Any advice?
    Maria Sharapova: Don't you beat up other guys for a living? I don't know how to answer this.



  15. #15
    Speechless
    Points: 559,873, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 9.0%
    Achievements:
    Social50000 Experience PointsOverdriveVeteranRecommendation Second Class
    ISUAgronomist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Back in Iowa!!!!!!!!
    Posts
    21,311
    Points
    559,873
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 177
    Given: 98

    Re: Why does ESPN HD on Mediacom look like crap?

    I thought it was the government actually made the local stations go DIGITAL, not HD.
    Corrected. My locals all went HD but obviously not all stations could afford to do so.




Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • TV: Fox Sports 1
  • Iowa State vs. Kansas State
  • September 6, 2014
  • 11:00 AM