Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    Pro
    Points: 54,289, Level: 72
    Level completed: 16%, Points required for next Level: 1,261
    Overall activity: 41.0%
    Achievements:
    VeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points
    BoxsterCy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Golden Valley, MN
    Posts
    3,235
    Points
    54,289
    Level
    72
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 264
    Given: 213

    Vista Anti-Virus removal

    Okay, I have this damn malware on my home machine. First time I have had a big time virus on my computer. It's hi-jacked my browser so I am here a work looking to download a removal tool if I can.

    Anyone have experience with this thing? It's nasty.



  2. #2
    Speechless
    Points: 860,399, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 86.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience PointsOverdrive
    CycloneErik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Jamerica
    Posts
    55,360
    Points
    860,399
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1,484
    Given: 1,265

    Re: Vista Anti-Virus removal

    malwarebytes


    Since we are an elite team now, let's go get that One Cyclone Moment.
    Make this one for the ages!




    http://rememberingdoria.wordpress.com/

  3. #3
    Legend
    Points: 386,190, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 13.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points
    bos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    23,651
    Points
    386,190
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 465
    Given: 310

    Re: Vista Anti-Virus removal

    MWB probably wont get it. Do you have more than one account on the machine?



  4. #4
    Pro
    Points: 54,289, Level: 72
    Level completed: 16%, Points required for next Level: 1,261
    Overall activity: 41.0%
    Achievements:
    VeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points
    BoxsterCy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Golden Valley, MN
    Posts
    3,235
    Points
    54,289
    Level
    72
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 264
    Given: 213

    Re: Vista Anti-Virus removal

    Quote Originally Posted by bos View Post
    MWB probably wont get it. Do you have more than one account on the machine?
    It's my home computer, just me, unless you are asking hme to look to see if this thing set up another one.



  5. #5
    Walk On
    Points: 7,844, Level: 26
    Level completed: 49%, Points required for next Level: 306
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran5000 Experience Points
    cydswipe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Maquoketa, Iowa
    Posts
    178
    Points
    7,844
    Level
    26
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: Vista Anti-Virus removal

    You are going to have to restart in "safe mode" by tapping F8 while your machine re-starts. Make sure you have a connection to the internet. Then you have to install and run Malwarebytes. you MAY have to create a new user profile to do so. I would also update any antivirus stuff you have, 'cause it's not up to date.


    There can be only one.

  6. #6
    Legend
    Points: 346,761, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 99.8%
    Achievements:
    50000 Experience PointsSocialVeteran
    ISUCubswin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    My Playhouse
    Posts
    11,429
    Points
    346,761
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 849
    Given: 442

    Re: Vista Anti-Virus removal

    I've had this happen twice with Vista. Start in safemode and its EASIEST and BEST and GUARANTEED to work with Trend Micro. Malwarebytes is usually shut down also by Vista. Once downloaded, if it doesn't let you open Trent Micro, left click "Open as administrator" and it will open. Let it do its thing and it will do all removals itself once its running. Good luck



  7. #7
    Pro
    Points: 54,289, Level: 72
    Level completed: 16%, Points required for next Level: 1,261
    Overall activity: 41.0%
    Achievements:
    VeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points
    BoxsterCy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Golden Valley, MN
    Posts
    3,235
    Points
    54,289
    Level
    72
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 264
    Given: 213

    Re: Vista Anti-Virus removal

    Quote Originally Posted by cydswipe View Post
    You are going to have to restart in "safe mode" by tapping F8 while your machine re-starts. Make sure you have a connection to the internet. Then you have to install and run Malwarebytes. you MAY have to create a new user profile to do so. I would also update any antivirus stuff you have, 'cause it's not up to date.
    Weird on the update stuff since I have the Norton suite from Comcast and it has been working and is up todate. Just downloaded the Malwarebyte program here at work and will be running to home soon. I have Malwarebytes on the home machine but it wouldn't let me run/update it after this POS got on my computer.



  8. #8
    Prospect
    Points: 6,274, Level: 23
    Level completed: 45%, Points required for next Level: 276
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran5000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    64
    Points
    6,274
    Level
    23
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: Vista Anti-Virus removal

    This one is a little viscious. It removes associations to .exe files.



  9. #9
    Pro
    Points: 54,289, Level: 72
    Level completed: 16%, Points required for next Level: 1,261
    Overall activity: 41.0%
    Achievements:
    VeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points
    BoxsterCy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Golden Valley, MN
    Posts
    3,235
    Points
    54,289
    Level
    72
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 264
    Given: 213

    Re: Vista Anti-Virus removal

    Quote Originally Posted by ISUCubswin View Post
    I've had this happen twice with Vista. Start in safemode and its EASIEST and BEST and GUARANTEED to work with Trend Micro. Malwarebytes is usually shut down also by Vista. Once downloaded, if it doesn't let you open Trent Micro, left click "Open as administrator" and it will open. Let it do its thing and it will do all removals itself once its running. Good luck
    Thansk , just downloaded Trend also. Getting a CD full of weapons and heading home to kill some software zombies. Wish me luck!



  10. #10
    Legend
    Points: 386,190, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 13.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points
    bos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    23,651
    Points
    386,190
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 465
    Given: 310

    Re: Vista Anti-Virus removal

    Quote Originally Posted by geek4cy View Post
    This one is a little viscious. It removes associations to .exe files.
    No, actually what it does is hides your user profile from windows. Which leads to those errors. If you can get into safe mode, go into your user profile under the users folder under C. Make sure you have set your files and folders to unhide under tools.

    http://cdn.windows7themes.net/pics/s...and-drives.jpg

    Make sure show hiddens files and folders is marked and and uncheck hide operating system files.

    Once you have done this. Look under appdata. Then local. You will most likely see an filename that seems suspicious (nonsense letters and numbers) or you will see an executable named Vista Antivirus or similar. Removed that/those. Reboot. This will kill the startup command to run it. You will probably have to remove the reg entry for it as well. But lets get it stopped from running first.

    If you are getting the exe and file association issues as mentioned at the top, you can right click on your user folder under USERS and clear the hidden check mark if its checked and click apply.


    If this clears it all up, go back and tick the box for hide system files and folder and hide operating system files in the folder options.


    Last edited by bos; 12-17-2011 at 05:38 PM.

  11. #11
    Walk On
    Points: 8,889, Level: 28
    Level completed: 24%, Points required for next Level: 461
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    5000 Experience PointsVeteran

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    199
    Points
    8,889
    Level
    28
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: Vista Anti-Virus removal

    Just start in safe mode and do a standard Windows restore to a previous day before you got the virus... has always worked like a charm for me whenever I've gotten viruses in the past.



  12. #12
    Pro
    Points: 72,425, Level: 83
    Level completed: 58%, Points required for next Level: 725
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    50000 Experience PointsVeteran
    SvrWxCy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    2,851
    Points
    72,425
    Level
    83
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: Vista Anti-Virus removal

    These viruses as of late have came out so fast and furious that many times even if your anti-virus is up to date it won't see it, as most people do anti-virus updates at night or only a daily basis at best. I've been lucky enough not to grab one of these on my personal computer, but dealt with one at work. Got rid of it easily enough with malwarebytes, but it is always a pain just to have to take the time to squash the dang things.



  13. #13
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 93,586, Level: 95
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 1,464
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    50000 Experience PointsSocialVeteran

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    West Des Moines
    Posts
    3,954
    Points
    93,586
    Level
    95
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: Vista Anti-Virus removal

    That SOB just took over my browser too



  14. #14
    Pro
    Points: 54,289, Level: 72
    Level completed: 16%, Points required for next Level: 1,261
    Overall activity: 41.0%
    Achievements:
    VeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points
    BoxsterCy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Golden Valley, MN
    Posts
    3,235
    Points
    54,289
    Level
    72
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 264
    Given: 213

    Re: Vista Anti-Virus removal

    Scanning with Malwarebytes right now. Run some downloads from bleepingcomputer.com which blocked the .exe rerouting and ended the sypware processing so I could run Malwarebytes (in lieu of running in safemode). We will see how this goes.

    I did get windows exe error messages, so the post regarding that may come in handy. At least I have temp control of my browser back but still feel like killing some of the Russian bastards that write this virus stuff.



  15. #15
    All-Star
    Points: 14,915, Level: 37
    Level completed: 9%, Points required for next Level: 735
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points
    StClone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,134
    Points
    14,915
    Level
    37
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 20
    Given: 37

    Re: Vista Anti-Virus removal

    Quote Originally Posted by BoxsterCy View Post
    Okay, I have this damn malware on my home machine. First time I have had a big time virus on my computer. It's hi-jacked my browser so I am here a work looking to download a removal tool if I can.

    Anyone have experience with this thing? It's nasty.
    If you have registered Windows there is Microsoft Security Essentials. Keep updating and eventually the system will clear the problems especially if it is one of the scam WIN Viruses. This virus is a nuisance and does little harm as with most of these scams. You can even get Windows to work by entering "All Prgrams" and find a link that eventually goes around the virus control. It may take a day to clear, but it works.



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • Football
  • Iowa State vs. North Dakota State
  • August 30, 2014
  • 11:00 AM