Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Prospect
    Points: 4,529, Level: 19
    Level completed: 70%, Points required for next Level: 121
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran1000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    28
    Points
    4,529
    Level
    19
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Extra Point/field goal clarification

    If an extra point or field goal attempt goes between the uprights above the top of the goal post does it count? Can someone give me a website where this is explained?
    Thanks



  2. #2
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 48,346, Level: 67
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 4
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    atlantacyclone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Fontvieille Monaco
    Posts
    3,818
    Points
    48,346
    Level
    67
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 10
    Given: 6

    Re: Extra Point/field goal clarification

    It was my understanding that the ball went over the right hand side of the post, therefore no good.



  3. #3
    CyBer
    Guest

    Re: Extra Point/field goal clarification

    It doesn't count because if the kick were moved down it would have hit the goal post.



  4. #4
    Addict
    Points: 119,458, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    jsmith86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Tulsa
    Posts
    6,193
    Points
    119,458
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: Extra Point/field goal clarification

    The posts are assumed be infinitely tall. If a ball would have hit a theoretical infinitely tall post, it is assumed that the ball would have bounced back and would be no good ,therefore a ball that goes directly above the post is ruled to be no good.


    ____________________________________

    You can't die. That would upset the equilibrium in the Cave.
    Warning: Posts contain 98% post-sarcastic content.
    Hoiball

  5. #5
    All-Star
    Points: 44,446, Level: 65
    Level completed: 16%, Points required for next Level: 1,104
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    25000 Experience PointsVeteran
    cyclonefreak5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Ames
    Posts
    1,213
    Points
    44,446
    Level
    65
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 3
    Given: 7

    Re: Extra Point/field goal clarification

    Quote Originally Posted by jsmith86 View Post
    The posts are assumed be infinitely tall. If a ball would have hit a theoretical infinitely tall post, it is assumed that the ball would have bounced back and would be no good ,therefore a ball that goes directly above the post is ruled to be no good.
    for extra clarification... in NCAA and high school, they use the inside of the posts... in NFL, they use the outside edge of the post to determine if the kick is good or not

    NFHS & NCAA: The ENTIRE ball must pass to the inside of the INSIDE edge of the upright extended indefinately above the upright.

    NFL: The ENTIRE ball must pass to the inside of the OUTSIDE edge of the upright extended indefinately above the upright.
    American Football Rules Answers for Coaches



  6. #6
    Pro
    Points: 118,866, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    balken's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    2,643
    Points
    118,866
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 3
    Given: 0

    Re: Extra Point/field goal clarification

    If the ball goes over the top of the goal post and one team wants to have the kick reviewed, they may. The teams send their OC and DC, respectively into the replay booth. The team being challenged may defer to the video evidence or use the Chewbacca defense.



  7. #7
    Legend
    Points: 216,862, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 19.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    10,227
    Points
    216,862
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 188
    Given: 245

    Re: Extra Point/field goal clarification

    Guyer tried to kick the extra point through the pole today and that does not count


    Nobody but HB knows for sure. You pretty much know nothing....like Knownothing would like to say.
    Word

  8. #8
    Pro
    Points: 42,700, Level: 63
    Level completed: 81%, Points required for next Level: 250
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    mike4cy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Urbandale
    Posts
    2,564
    Points
    42,700
    Level
    63
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 6
    Given: 0

    Re: Extra Point/field goal clarification

    They are free points that are not supposed to be missed.....ever. Wait is that not what you asked? LOL.



  9. #9
    Rookie
    Points: 14,596, Level: 36
    Level completed: 69%, Points required for next Level: 254
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Social10000 Experience Points1 year registeredRecommendation Second Class
    Storkenheimer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Ames
    Posts
    523
    Points
    14,596
    Level
    36
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 7
    Given: 2

    Re: Extra Point/field goal clarification

    Quote Originally Posted by Knownothing View Post
    Guyer tried to kick the extra point through the pole today and that does not count
    Wtf do you know anyways?



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • Football
  • Iowa State vs. North Dakota State
  • August 30, 2014
  • 11:00 AM