Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 42
  1. #1
    Starter
    Points: 15,018, Level: 37
    Level completed: 21%, Points required for next Level: 632
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    10000 Experience PointsVeteran
    Cyrok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    DSM
    Posts
    629
    Points
    15,018
    Level
    37
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 4
    Given: 30

    Officiating question

    Just re-watched the Okie State game (we still won!!) and I'm confused about a call. An unnecessary roughness penalty was called on OSU after the last play of the first half was blown dead and the officials announced it would be enforced at the start of the third period. As far as I can tell, it wasn't enforced on the kick-off and it wasn't enforced when OSU's offense came out. Did the ref's forget about it? Or am I missing something.

    TIA



  2. #2
    Pro
    Points: 29,086, Level: 52
    Level completed: 40%, Points required for next Level: 664
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    Covenant Clone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Clive
    Posts
    2,902
    Points
    29,086
    Level
    52
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 7
    Given: 0

    Re: Officiating question

    It was enforced...we kicked off from the 45 to start the second half.



  3. #3
    Speechless
    Points: 432,851, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Ames
    Posts
    23,818
    Points
    432,851
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 123
    Given: 17

    Re: Officiating question

    Quote Originally Posted by Cyrok View Post
    Just re-watched the Okie State game (we still won!!) and I'm confused about a call. An unnecessary roughness penalty was called on OSU after the last play of the first half was blown dead and the officials announced it would be enforced at the start of the third period. As far as I can tell, it wasn't enforced on the kick-off and it wasn't enforced when OSU's offense came out. Did the ref's forget about it? Or am I missing something.

    TIA
    We kicked off from the 45 and Mahoney punched it straight into the air on the second half kickoff.



  4. #4
    Rookie
    Points: 16,634, Level: 39
    Level completed: 23%, Points required for next Level: 616
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered10000 Experience Points
    JMCato's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Ankeny, IA
    Posts
    531
    Points
    16,634
    Level
    39
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 4
    Given: 30

    Re:Officiating question

    What I was confused by was at one point in the 2nd half OSU got a 1st down and then after the play was over got an unnecessary roughness penalty. Why was it then 1st and 10 not 1st and 25?



  5. #5
    Speechless
    Points: 432,851, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Ames
    Posts
    23,818
    Points
    432,851
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 123
    Given: 17

    Re: Officiating question

    Quote Originally Posted by JMCato View Post
    What I was confused by was at one point in the 2nd half OSU got a 1st down and then after the play was over got an unnecessary roughness penalty. Why was it then 1st and 10 not 1st and 25?
    I believe that was a dead ball penalty but could be wrong.



  6. #6
    All-Star
    Points: 23,390, Level: 46
    Level completed: 84%, Points required for next Level: 160
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Ames
    Posts
    1,832
    Points
    23,390
    Level
    46
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 6
    Given: 16

    Re: Officiating question

    Quote Originally Posted by JMCato View Post
    What I was confused by was at one point in the 2nd half OSU got a 1st down and then after the play was over got an unnecessary roughness penalty. Why was it then 1st and 10 not 1st and 25?
    I wondered that also.
    I assume:
    1) Play is over.
    2) First down earned.
    3) Penalty occurred.
    4) Penalty enforced.
    5) Chains are moved.


    May my postings be polite and not misunderstood. (And hopefully funny on occasion.)

  7. #7
    All-Star
    Points: 23,390, Level: 46
    Level completed: 84%, Points required for next Level: 160
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Ames
    Posts
    1,832
    Points
    23,390
    Level
    46
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 6
    Given: 16

    Re: Officiating question

    Quote Originally Posted by JMCato View Post
    What I was confused by was at one point in the 2nd half OSU got a 1st down and then after the play was over got an unnecessary roughness penalty. Why was it then 1st and 10 not 1st and 25?
    Quote Originally Posted by IcSyU View Post
    I believe that was a dead ball penalty but could be wrong.
    Right, but the question is this --

    If it's 2nd and 8 and the play goes for 5 yards and then there's a dead ball foul for 15 yards, it'll be 3rd down and 18 (not 3rd and 5). What's special about earning a 1st down that makes it a "yardage only" penalty, instead of a yards-to-first-down penalty (if that makes sense).

    I'm fine with it -- but it does seem inconsistent. Like it should be:

    1) Play is over.
    2) 1st down earned.
    3) Yard line required for the next 1st down is established (chains are moved and established instantly in theory).
    4) Dead ball penalty.
    5) Penalty enforced.
    6) 1st down and 25.


    May my postings be polite and not misunderstood. (And hopefully funny on occasion.)

  8. #8
    Pro
    Points: 38,489, Level: 60
    Level completed: 54%, Points required for next Level: 561
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    2,036
    Points
    38,489
    Level
    60
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 15
    Given: 0

    Re: Officiating question

    Quote Originally Posted by Cyrok View Post
    Just re-watched the Okie State game (we still won!!) and I'm confused about a call. An unnecessary roughness penalty was called on OSU after the last play of the first half was blown dead and the officials announced it would be enforced at the start of the third period. As far as I can tell, it wasn't enforced on the kick-off and it wasn't enforced when OSU's offense came out. Did the ref's forget about it? Or am I missing something.

    TIA

    How about that GREAT review of the TD pass? Confirmed versus Upheld!! Only a frickin lawyer could come up with that nuance to "cover down" for the screw ups on the field. Thank goodness ISU scored again just to PROVE em wrong!

    Officials should learn to tell the truth by what they SEE and not worry about overturning a screwed up call on the field. But they are SOoooo insecure aren't they!



  9. #9
    Speechless
    Points: 432,851, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Ames
    Posts
    23,818
    Points
    432,851
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 123
    Given: 17

    Re: Officiating question

    Quote Originally Posted by TedKumsher View Post
    Right, but the question is this --

    If it's 2nd and 8 and the play goes for 5 yards and then there's a dead ball foul for 15 yards, it'll be 3rd down and 18 (not 3rd and 5). What's special about earning a 1st down that makes it a "yardage only" penalty, instead of a yards-to-first-down penalty (if that makes sense).

    I'm fine with it -- but it does seem inconsistent. Like it should be:

    1) Play is over.
    2) 1st down earned.
    3) Yard line required for the next 1st down is established (chains are moved and established instantly in theory).
    4) Dead ball penalty.
    5) Penalty enforced.
    6) 1st down and 25.
    The result of the play stands, so the chains are picked up. However, the chains aren't set back down until the ball is set for play, which is after the penalty is assessed. In the other case, the chains aren't picked up because the result of the play wasn't a first down.



  10. #10
    Rookie
    Points: 13,439, Level: 35
    Level completed: 13%, Points required for next Level: 611
    Overall activity: 11.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points
    ChiefCy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    411
    Points
    13,439
    Level
    35
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 11
    Given: 11

    Re: Officiating question

    Quote Originally Posted by Cyrok View Post
    Just re-watched the Okie State game (we still won!!) and I'm confused about a call. An unnecessary roughness penalty was called on OSU after the last play of the first half was blown dead and the officials announced it would be enforced at the start of the third period. As far as I can tell, it wasn't enforced on the kick-off and it wasn't enforced when OSU's offense came out. Did the ref's forget about it? Or am I missing something.

    TIA
    What if this had been the end of the game, would the game then have to be extended in order to enforce the personal foul?



  11. #11
    Speechless
    Points: 432,851, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Ames
    Posts
    23,818
    Points
    432,851
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 123
    Given: 17

    Re: Officiating question

    Quote Originally Posted by ChiefCy View Post
    What if this had been the end of the game, would the game then have to be extended in order to enforce the personal foul?
    I believe the game is over because the foul didn't occur on a timed down.

    If I get a chance this weekend, I will see if any of the above are covered in the rule/case books I have laying around. I very well could be wrong.

    The post below is correct. QB runs out of bounds, corner crushes him. Dead ball personal foul. 15 yard penalty or half the distance and another untimed down. Part of me is shocked some *** clown hasn't called someone for excessive celebration on a defender at the end of a game and gotten the offense one more play.


    Last edited by IcSyU; 11-23-2011 at 04:29 PM.

  12. #12
    Pro
    Points: 29,086, Level: 52
    Level completed: 40%, Points required for next Level: 664
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    Covenant Clone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Clive
    Posts
    2,902
    Points
    29,086
    Level
    52
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 7
    Given: 0

    Re: Officiating question

    Quote Originally Posted by ChiefCy View Post
    What if this had been the end of the game, would the game then have to be extended in order to enforce the personal foul?
    One more un-timed down...the game can't end on a defensive penalty. It wouldn't matter if its a dead ball it was still on the defense.



  13. #13
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 69,273, Level: 81
    Level completed: 72%, Points required for next Level: 477
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    Jordanj6502's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Ames
    Posts
    3,674
    Points
    69,273
    Level
    81
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 53
    Given: 19

    Re: Officiating question

    On a different officiating note... Someone on refstripes.com pointed this out.
    (Onside KO (video))

    [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QUcyCn88Yjs]Onside KO - YouTube[/ame]


    Mahoney didn't bounce the ball like a traditional onside kick. It should have been Kick Catch Interference because the block occurred before the ball hits the ground, and the Receiving team has the right to the attempt to field the ball until it hits the ground.
    So remember when you next get mad at officiating, that somethings do go our way.



  14. #14
    Addict
    Points: 116,238, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 28.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience PointsSocial
    Cycsk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    9,235
    Points
    116,238
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 370
    Given: 302

    Re: Officiating question

    It has been a while since I have been on that site. It is one of the best places for objective consideration of referee calls.As I watch the ultra-slow motion, it seems that the ball does indeed hit the ground (or at least he hits the ball down). I don't think his kick angle could explain hitting the ball in the air without coming off the ground. And it doesn't look like the OSU guy is going for the ball. He looks more like he is going for our guy who is going for the ball. If he is not making a play on the ball, then you should be able to block him just like anyone else on the receiving team, IMO. At any rate, your point about the refs not screwing us on this one is certainly true.



  15. #15
    Addict
    Points: 143,375, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 36.0%
    Achievements:
    50000 Experience PointsVeteran
    CyFan61's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    The Southeast
    Posts
    7,334
    Points
    143,375
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 422
    Given: 125

    Re: Officiating question

    Quote Originally Posted by Cycsk View Post
    It has been a while since I have been on that site. It is one of the best places for objective consideration of referee calls.As I watch the ultra-slow motion, it seems that the ball does indeed hit the ground (or at least he hits the ball down).
    No, actually it's pretty clear that the ball does not hit the ground before it's caught. Good point by Jordan, if that is indeed the rule (and I would assume that it is) then we caught a break on that one.



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • Football
  • Iowa State vs. North Dakota State
  • August 30, 2014
  • 11:00 AM