Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 51
  1. #1
    Bench Warmer
    Points: 14,544, Level: 36
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 306
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    317
    Points
    14,544
    Level
    36
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Computer help needed

    I had a new power supply put in my computer yesterday. My wife's computer is connected to the router with those things you plug into an electrical outlet. Since I got the new power supply installed, my wife's computer won't recognize the network and won't connect to the internet. If I turn off my computer, the wife's computer connects fine. As soon as I turn on my computer, my wife's internet connection is lost and it says "unidentified network". Any ideas what is going on?


    GO CYCLONES!!!



  2. #2
    Legend
    Points: 406,477, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 15.0%
    Achievements:
    50000 Experience PointsOverdriveVeteran
    State43's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Omaha, NE
    Posts
    10,380
    Points
    406,477
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 97
    Given: 66

    Re: Computer help needed

    Have you had issues connecting 2 computers at the same time before? I know when my wife has her work computer home and is using it, my computer gives me a message saying another computer is using the IP but I can still use my computer.


    Quote Originally Posted by AltHawk View Post
    Why would it? One bad game doesn't change a thing. Iowa will still be a darkhorse B1G championship contender, and Iowa State will be lucky to make the NIT.

    If you ask the basketball analysts outside the state of Iowa I think you would be surprised to hear their responses. Iowa was pegged as a preseason top 5 team by one ESPN analyst and is ranked in the vast, vast majority of preseason top 25 polls

  3. #3
    Legend
    Points: 378,897, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 29.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points
    bos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    23,323
    Points
    378,897
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 99
    Given: 110

    Re: Computer help needed

    If you are having IP conflicts, there is something wrong with your DHCP on your router. You may want to turn it off and back on again. You can also in most cases go into the web interface and delete the entries for you machines under the DHCP lease...might be a bit complex if you arent tech savvy though. Start with a reboot of the router. You dont happen to have the two machines named the same do you?



  4. #4
    Bench Warmer
    Points: 14,544, Level: 36
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 306
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    317
    Points
    14,544
    Level
    36
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: Computer help needed

    Quote Originally Posted by State43 View Post
    Have you had issues connecting 2 computers at the same time before? I know when my wife has her work computer home and is using it, my computer gives me a message saying another computer is using the IP but I can still use my computer.


    No, everything worked fine for a couple of years until yesterday when I had the new power supply put in my computer. Actually, I have had 3 computers connected, my computer, my work laptop that sits about 6ft away and my wife's computer in an upstairs bedroom. I have tried things 4 times now. With my computer shut down, start my wife's computer and it connects to internet fine and works fine. Then I start my computer and every time it says "unrecognized network". Then I shut my computer off and the wife's works fine again. Also during all of this, my work laptop is unaffected.

    GO CYCLONES!!!



  5. #5
    Bench Warmer
    Points: 14,544, Level: 36
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 306
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    317
    Points
    14,544
    Level
    36
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: Computer help needed

    Quote Originally Posted by bos View Post
    If you are having IP conflicts, there is something wrong with your DHCP on your router. You may want to turn it off and back on again. You can also in most cases go into the web interface and delete the entries for you machines under the DHCP lease...might be a bit complex if you arent tech savvy though. Start with a reboot of the router. You dont happen to have the two machines named the same do you?


    I tried unplugging and resetting the router last night. I went to the network section from control panel and it showed the IP address and says "address type: assigned by DHCP". I don't know what the DHCP is.



  6. #6
    Legend
    Points: 378,897, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 29.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points
    bos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    23,323
    Points
    378,897
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 99
    Given: 110

    Re: Computer help needed

    Quote Originally Posted by cycfan View Post
    I tried unplugging and resetting the router last night. I went to the network section from control panel and it showed the IP address and says "address type: assigned by DHCP". I don't know what the DHCP is.
    Go to start>Run Type in cmd and hit enter. You should get a command prompt. In this prompt, type ipconfig and hit enter. Let me know what it says for IP.



  7. #7
    Bench Warmer
    Points: 14,544, Level: 36
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 306
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    317
    Points
    14,544
    Level
    36
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: Computer help needed

    Quote Originally Posted by bos View Post
    Go to start>Run Type in cmd and hit enter. You should get a command prompt. In this prompt, type ipconfig and hit enter. Let me know what it says for IP.


    It says:

    Ethernet adapter local area connection:

    connection specific DNS suffix:
    IP Address: 192.168.0.103
    Subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
    default gateway: 192.168.0.1



  8. #8
    Legend
    Points: 378,897, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 29.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points
    bos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    23,323
    Points
    378,897
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 99
    Given: 110

    Re: Computer help needed

    Quote Originally Posted by cycfan View Post
    It says:

    Ethernet adapter local area connection:

    connection specific DNS suffix:
    IP Address: 192.168.0.103
    Subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
    default gateway: 192.168.0.1
    How about on the conflicting machine?



  9. #9
    Rookie
    Points: 16,729, Level: 39
    Level completed: 35%, Points required for next Level: 521
    Overall activity: 7.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points
    dtlantz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    538
    Points
    16,729
    Level
    39
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 5

    Re: Computer help needed

    This is why I love CF.



  10. #10
    Bench Warmer
    Points: 14,544, Level: 36
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 306
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    317
    Points
    14,544
    Level
    36
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: Computer help needed

    Quote Originally Posted by bos View Post
    How about on the conflicting machine?

    This is dumb, but the other computer uses Windows 7 and I'm not familiar with it. I don't know where to go to get the "run" command. The start menu brings up control panel, computer etc. but no "run" command.



  11. #11
    Legend
    Points: 378,897, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 29.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points
    bos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    23,323
    Points
    378,897
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 99
    Given: 110

    Re: Computer help needed

    Quote Originally Posted by cycfan View Post
    This is dumb, but the other computer uses Windows 7 and I'm not familiar with it. I don't know where to go to get the "run" command. The start menu brings up control panel, computer etc. but no "run" command.
    You can type it into the search programs and files space when you click the start button. Works the same.



  12. #12
    Addict
    Points: 119,458, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    jsmith86's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Tulsa
    Posts
    6,193
    Points
    119,458
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: Computer help needed

    Click the windows circle at the bottom left. In the search box, type cmd, it should pop up as the first result in the list above.


    ____________________________________

    You can't die. That would upset the equilibrium in the Cave.
    Warning: Posts contain 98% post-sarcastic content.
    Hoiball

  13. #13
    Bench Warmer
    Points: 14,544, Level: 36
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 306
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    317
    Points
    14,544
    Level
    36
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: Computer help needed

    Quote Originally Posted by bos View Post
    You can type it into the search programs and files space when you click the start button. Works the same.

    wireless LANadapter wireless network connection 2:
    media state........media disconnected
    connection specific DNS suffix:

    Ethernet adapter local area connection:
    connectiono specific DNS suffix:
    Link-local IPv6 address........fe80::e47e:d727:409:cf7fb%12
    autoconfiguration IPv4 address.....169.254.199.251
    subnet mask........255.255.0.0
    default gateway

    tunnel adapter isatap.<6D940f92-a618-4f38-9bfd-ca1b83c046537:


    then it has this tunnel thing 3 different times below that with different numbers.



  14. #14
    Legend
    Points: 378,897, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 29.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points
    bos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    23,323
    Points
    378,897
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 99
    Given: 110

    Re: Computer help needed

    Quote Originally Posted by cycfan View Post
    wireless LANadapter wireless network connection 2:
    media state........media disconnected
    connection specific DNS suffix:

    Ethernet adapter local area connection:
    connectiono specific DNS suffix:
    Link-local IPv6 address........fe80::e47e:d727:409:cf7fb%12
    autoconfiguration IPv4 address.....169.254.199.251
    subnet mask........255.255.0.0
    default gateway

    tunnel adapter isatap.<6D940f92-a618-4f38-9bfd-ca1b83c046537:


    then it has this tunnel thing 3 different times below that with different numbers.

    Yeah 169.254.199.251 is not a good sign. Is this when its up and running with the other machine off? Or with both on?

    One thing you can try is to run a repair on the network adapter. You can get to that by going back to the search box and typing Network Connections in it and hitting enter. It should display your adapters. Right click on the live adapter and choose Diagnose.



  15. #15
    Bench Warmer
    Points: 14,544, Level: 36
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 306
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    317
    Points
    14,544
    Level
    36
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: Computer help needed

    Quote Originally Posted by bos View Post
    Yeah 169.254.199.251 is not a good sign. Is this when its up and running with the other machine off? Or with both on?

    One thing you can try is to run a repair on the network adapter. You can get to that by going back to the search box and typing Network Connections in it and hitting enter. It should display your adapters. Right click on the live adapter and choose Diagnose.

    This is with both computers running. If I turn mine off, the other one works fine. This is only occurring when mine is on. I'll try to repair the network adapter.



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • Football
  • Iowa State vs. North Dakota State
  • August 30, 2014
  • 06:00 PM