Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    Walk On
    Points: 7,364, Level: 25
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 186
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran5000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    149
    Points
    7,364
    Level
    25
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 0

    Ethernet wire question ?

    I am in the works of moving my office downstairs in the basement. I would like to have my ps3 have a ethernet line to it. What type of ethernet wire should I be using ? I have seen cat 5 and cat6 and crossover cables etc.

    I want to do this right the first time. I plan on buying the cable and crimpers and doing this myself.

    Thanks for the help.



  2. #2
    Pro
    Points: 39,857, Level: 61
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 493
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    3GenClone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Windsor Heights
    Posts
    2,060
    Points
    39,857
    Level
    61
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 43
    Given: 36

    Re: Ethernet wire question ?

    Quote Originally Posted by ISUFAN80 View Post
    I am in the works of moving my office downstairs in the basement. I would like to have my ps3 have a ethernet line to it. What type of ethernet wire should I be using ? I have seen cat 5 and cat6 and crossover cables etc.

    I want to do this right the first time. I plan on buying the cable and crimpers and doing this myself.

    Thanks for the help.
    Cat5e

    It's backwards compatible with devices that are labeled as using CAT5. It can handle up to 1000 Mbps (you will probably never deal with those speeds). It also is capable of transporting high-definition video and audio if you ever wanted to split your high-def video from your main TV room to the office.



  3. #3
    Walk On
    Points: 7,364, Level: 25
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 186
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran5000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    149
    Points
    7,364
    Level
    25
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 0

    Re: Ethernet wire question ?

    I noticed on mono price that the smallest cable is 100 ft. I probably only need 150 by the time I am done. These already have then ends on them. The only other option is buying 1000 feet which I don't need. I plan on buying a couple of the 100 ft cables and buying a crimper and doing the work myself.



  4. #4
    Walk On
    Points: 7,364, Level: 25
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 186
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran5000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    149
    Points
    7,364
    Level
    25
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 0

    Re: Ethernet wire question ?

    Cat 5e Network Cables

    Which one do you think I should buy ?



  5. #5
    Addict
    Points: 92,461, Level: 94
    Level completed: 64%, Points required for next Level: 689
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    cytech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Hiawatha, Iowa
    Posts
    6,190
    Points
    92,461
    Level
    94
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 10
    Given: 6

    Re: Ethernet wire question ?

    What city do you live in there are places you can go and buy the cable by the foot. It may be a better option since you don't want a entire spool.



  6. #6
    Walk On
    Points: 7,364, Level: 25
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 186
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran5000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    149
    Points
    7,364
    Level
    25
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 0

    Re: Ethernet wire question ?

    Ft.Dodge



  7. #7
    Bench Warmer
    Points: 6,072, Level: 23
    Level completed: 5%, Points required for next Level: 478
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Social5000 Experience PointsVeteran
    M6WS6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Ames, IA
    Posts
    321
    Points
    6,072
    Level
    23
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: Ethernet wire question ?

    Quote Originally Posted by ISUFAN80 View Post
    I am in the works of moving my office downstairs in the basement. I would like to have my ps3 have a ethernet line to it. What type of ethernet wire should I be using ? I have seen cat 5 and cat6 and crossover cables etc.

    I want to do this right the first time. I plan on buying the cable and crimpers and doing this myself.

    Thanks for the help.
    An office with a PS3, man I would never get anything done...


    I went to college thinking I wanted a career; turns out I just wanted paychecks.

    A clear conscience is usually the sign of a bad memory.

  8. #8
    Addict
    Points: 92,461, Level: 94
    Level completed: 64%, Points required for next Level: 689
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    cytech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Hiawatha, Iowa
    Posts
    6,190
    Points
    92,461
    Level
    94
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 10
    Given: 6

    Re: Ethernet wire question ?

    Quote Originally Posted by ISUFAN80 View Post
    Ft.Dodge
    I am not sure if there is somewhere there that would or not you can check a big box hardware store they might sell it by the foot. Graybar in Cedar Rapids does, not sure where else they have locations in the state



  9. #9
    Walk On
    Points: 7,364, Level: 25
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 186
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran5000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    149
    Points
    7,364
    Level
    25
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 0

    Re: Ethernet wire question ?

    Actually the ps3 will be in the family room. That would be nice though.



  10. #10
    Addict
    Points: 92,461, Level: 94
    Level completed: 64%, Points required for next Level: 689
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    cytech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Hiawatha, Iowa
    Posts
    6,190
    Points
    92,461
    Level
    94
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 10
    Given: 6

    Re: Ethernet wire question ?

    Quote Originally Posted by ISUFAN80 View Post
    Actually the ps3 will be in the family room. That would be nice though.
    What is the reason you want to run ethernet cable vs going wireless or powerline ethernet?



  11. #11
    Pro
    Points: 47,130, Level: 67
    Level completed: 13%, Points required for next Level: 1,220
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Burnsville, MN
    Posts
    2,932
    Points
    47,130
    Level
    67
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 68
    Given: 15

    Re: Ethernet wire question ?

    This may be a stupid question, but how do you send high def video and audio over ethernet?



  12. #12
    Addict
    Points: 92,461, Level: 94
    Level completed: 64%, Points required for next Level: 689
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    cytech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Hiawatha, Iowa
    Posts
    6,190
    Points
    92,461
    Level
    94
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 10
    Given: 6

    Re: Ethernet wire question ?

    Quote Originally Posted by MNclone View Post
    This may be a stupid question, but how do you send high def video and audio over ethernet?
    If you have the file on your computer or PS3 or other similar device 1000 mbit/s is fast enough to transfer it for real time streaming. Of course 100 mbit/s is fast enough to stream HD content as well.



  13. #13
    Walk On
    Points: 7,364, Level: 25
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 186
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran5000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    149
    Points
    7,364
    Level
    25
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 0

    Re: Ethernet wire question ?

    Quote Originally Posted by cytech View Post
    What is the reason you want to run ethernet cable vs going wireless or powerline ethernet?
    I would like a wired line because of the speed gains with it. If I am going to stream video or anything else that takes a ton of bandwidth I would rather have a wired connection.



  14. #14
    Addict
    Points: 92,461, Level: 94
    Level completed: 64%, Points required for next Level: 689
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    cytech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Hiawatha, Iowa
    Posts
    6,190
    Points
    92,461
    Level
    94
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 10
    Given: 6

    Re: Ethernet wire question ?

    Quote Originally Posted by ISUFAN80 View Post
    I would like a wired line because of the speed gains with it. If I am going to stream video or anything else that takes a ton of bandwidth I would rather have a wired connection.

    The up to 450 mbps that wireless offers and the 500 mbps that powerline offers is more then enough bandwidth to support anything a home user can through at it. And in all honesty most home users will not have a need for more than 100 mbps for quite a while.

    Most common internet speeds you see today are in the 10-15 mbps so having wired over wireless offer no advantage on that front at all.

    If your desktop or laptop PC does not have a gigabit Ethernet card in it then the max speed it will support is 100 mbps. If the router you have now does not support gigabit you would need to purchase a new one of those as well.



  15. #15
    Walk On
    Points: 7,364, Level: 25
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 186
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran5000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    149
    Points
    7,364
    Level
    25
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 0

    Re: Ethernet wire question ?

    Quote Originally Posted by cytech View Post
    The up to 450 mbps that wireless offers and the 500 mbps that powerline offers is more then enough bandwidth to support anything a home user can through at it. And in all honesty most home users will not have a need for more than 100 mbps for quite a while.

    Most common internet speeds you see today are in the 10-15 mbps so having wired over wireless offer no advantage on that front at all.

    If your desktop or laptop PC does not have a gigabit Ethernet card in it then the max speed it will support is 100 mbps. If the router you have now does not support gigabit you would need to purchase a new one of those as well.
    I should have noted that I have major wireless interference in my home. Not sure why I just do. We get two bars from router to living room in a ranch style home.



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • Football
  • Iowa State vs. North Dakota State
  • August 30, 2014
  • 11:00 AM