Overall activity: 13.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    Level
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 348
    Given: 222

Tv+Computer+Wi-Fi

Alright, you'd think as an engineer I'd be more of a "tech guy", but I'm not so I am seeking one out.

Last fall I bought an LG LED-tv with wi-fi capabilities. It's been great, and one feature we've really liked is the built-in netflix streaming. The amount of usage we get from that without really putting a dent in our queue has convinced us that we can break Mediacom's hold on us, at least as far as cable TV is concerned.

I am fine with this except for one thing: Sports! I know that it is not too hard to find most ISU games online, and even have ESPN3, but I HATE watching anything for long periods of time on our desktop. I have toyed with idea of getting a dedicated "media computer" for the tv in the past, but we just bought a new Mac desktop a year ago as well, and it seems to me that if the tv is wi-fi enabled there must be a way to just connect our current computer to the tv over the wi-fi network.

I've looked at AppleTV, but I can't tell if it actually does what I want or is just a double-up of features my TV already has on it's own (netflix, etc.). I'm also not enough of an Apple junkie to believe that there's not possibly a cheaper way of accomplishing the same thing. I open it up to CF for suggestions.

All-Star
    Level completed: 66%, Points required for next Level: 411
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    25000 Experience PointsVeteran

Level
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 1

Re: Tv+Computer+Wi-Fi