Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran5000 Experience Points

Level
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

Why iPhone beats Android rant (long)

Let me preface by saying I'm a computer engineering grad and I currently have a job programming embedded devices that use Linux (the basis for Android). I'm a big fan of what Google has done with Android.

The wife and I purchased matching Motorola Droids a couple of years ago. They worked great for months. Then along came the first O/S update. Some weird issues started popping up. Then the second major O/S update. Now our phones were noticably slower, occassionally locked up and rebooted on their own, my speaker phone would freak out occassionally (I could hear people, they couldn't hear me), and lots of other misc things.

My wife's phone got so bad, she took it back to Verizon and had it factory reset a couple of times. That didn't help. While she was there, she was talking to the Verizon guy and they were discussing Android phones vs iPhones. He mentioned that there is a nearly endless stream of Android customers coming in with tech support issues. She asked how often that happens with iPhones -- he said "like, uh ..., never."

I have to agree. We have an iPad also and it just works. All the time.

The problem boils down to software testing. When Apple releases a major software upgrade, they send it over to their test department and they have about 3 or 4 versions of iPhone hardware to thoroughly test it on before shipping it.