Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Prospect
    Points: 3,249, Level: 16
    Level completed: 50%, Points required for next Level: 201
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience Points
    yowizz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    19
    Points
    3,249
    Level
    16
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    PS3 Media Server

    Has anyone had any luck sharing media between their PC and PS3 via media server? I have tried everything and can't get my PC and PS3 to see each other.



  2. #2
    Pro
    Points: 67,206, Level: 80
    Level completed: 48%, Points required for next Level: 844
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    50000 Experience PointsVeteran
    timappelgate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Cedar Falls, IA
    Posts
    2,272
    Points
    67,206
    Level
    80
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 5
    Given: 2

    Re: PS3 Media Server

    I use a program called playback. But I have a mac. Still might work.


    R.I.P "Gibbons" 4/3/2012
    R.I.P RollsRoyce 4/12/2012

  3. #3
    Rookie
    Points: 11,059, Level: 31
    Level completed: 73%, Points required for next Level: 191
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points
    clone26's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    DSM
    Posts
    513
    Points
    11,059
    Level
    31
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 2
    Given: 0

    Re: PS3 Media Server

    Quote Originally Posted by yowizz View Post
    Has anyone had any luck sharing media between their PC and PS3 via media server? I have tried everything and can't get my PC and PS3 to see each other.
    I got a new laptop a few months ago and my PS3 automatically recognized it. The connection between the 2 was pretty sketchy though, probably due to internet connection.



  4. #4
    Prospect
    Points: 3,479, Level: 17
    Level completed: 8%, Points required for next Level: 371
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran1000 Experience Points
    aeazy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    26
    Points
    3,479
    Level
    17
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: PS3 Media Server

    Tversity is what i use and i have no problems with it..


    Truly not a nugget..

  5. #5
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 65,392, Level: 79
    Level completed: 34%, Points required for next Level: 1,058
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    RustShack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    arrowheaddrive.com
    Posts
    4,617
    Points
    65,392
    Level
    79
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 93
    Given: 0

    Re: PS3 Media Server

    There might be a setting on your computer or router that is messing it up. Sorry I don't have time to look specifically for what its called or where its at because I gotta get to work. But I'm pretty sure I have my computer hidden so the other computers on the network can't see me or try sharing media files with me.



  6. #6
    Starter
    Points: 23,641, Level: 47
    Level completed: 10%, Points required for next Level: 909
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience PointsSocial
    MadCy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    783
    Points
    23,641
    Level
    47
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 3
    Given: 13

    Re: PS3 Media Server

    Quote Originally Posted by aeazy View Post
    Tversity is what i use and i have no problems with it..
    I use PS3 Media Server. PS3 Media Server

    It works pretty well. Fairly lightweight and basic.



  7. #7
    Pro
    Points: 39,707, Level: 61
    Level completed: 51%, Points required for next Level: 643
    Overall activity: 5.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    3GenClone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Windsor Heights
    Posts
    2,039
    Points
    39,707
    Level
    61
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 14
    Given: 15

    Re: PS3 Media Server

    I use a program called MediaLink for my Macbook to stream wirelessly to my PS3 and XBox 360.

    For my desktop PC, I just open Windows Media Player and I can access my music and movies on both consoles. Make sure all your sources are on the same network for this to work - I have all my game consoles and PC hard-wired to the router.



  8. #8
    Speechless
    Points: 431,706, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 9.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Ames
    Posts
    23,788
    Points
    431,706
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 104
    Given: 15

    Re: PS3 Media Server

    I used tversity back before I ran everything through my router and it worked awesome.



  9. #9
    Starter
    Points: 14,939, Level: 37
    Level completed: 12%, Points required for next Level: 711
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points
    MrGreg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    875
    Points
    14,939
    Level
    37
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 2
    Given: 7

    Re: PS3 Media Server

    Tversity here too, I run an older version and haven't had any problems



  10. #10
    Prospect
    Points: 3,249, Level: 16
    Level completed: 50%, Points required for next Level: 201
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience Points
    yowizz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    19
    Points
    3,249
    Level
    16
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: PS3 Media Server

    I have tried PS3 Media Server and Windows Media Player but haven't had any luck. I can ping my PS3 from my PC and my anti-virus software sees my PS3 on the network but windows doesn't see it. I'm sure it's some stupid little configuration that i can't find.



  11. #11
    Legend
    Points: 203,178, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 28.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialCreated Album picturesVeteran50000 Experience Points
    dmclone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    50131
    Posts
    13,305
    Points
    203,178
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 197
    Given: 300

    Re: PS3 Media Server

    Mine has always worked fine with Windows 7.



  12. #12
    Starter
    Points: 23,641, Level: 47
    Level completed: 10%, Points required for next Level: 909
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience PointsSocial
    MadCy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    783
    Points
    23,641
    Level
    47
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 3
    Given: 13

    Re: PS3 Media Server

    In PS3 media server under General Configuration you might have to Force networking on interface to the NIC card you are using. I have two in my machine, the wireless card and non wireless. Since I'm connecting to the media server using non wireless, I have to select that.

    Not sure if that is what is wrong, but it's something to check.



  13. #13
    All-Star
    Points: 28,634, Level: 51
    Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 16
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    1 year registered25000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1,957
    Points
    28,634
    Level
    51
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: PS3 Media Server

    Tversity here. No problems, other than my older laptop couldn't handle the RAM use by the Server process.



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • Football
  • Iowa State vs. North Dakota State
  • August 30, 2014
  • 11:00 AM