Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 10.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience PointsSocial
    Level
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 171
    Given: 148

Deadliest Catch: What went wrong on Cornelia Marie?

Seemed like it was just the perfect storm and new skipper Derek had almost no chance to succeed. He seems like an OK guy and, despite completely striking out this season, he may even know what he's doing. But the way he walked in there and tried to take charge and lay down the law with a veteran crew just wasn't going to work.

Not that I'm an expert, but it also seemed like a mistake to go after the notoriously elusive blue crab his first voyage out. If he was going to earn the respect of the crew he needed a "milk run" to get started.

All-Star
    Level completed: 88%, Points required for next Level: 159
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    Level
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 0

Re: Deadliest Catch: What went wrong on Cornelia Marie?

It was definitely a tough situation for Derek to come in to, but he hasn't made it any easier on himself. Constantly reminding the boys that Phil's dead just seems like a d-bag move.

He was probably a captain without a boat for a reason. I'm not too surprised he struck out. If I was in the boys' place I might have asked Andy Hillstrand to run the boat for one season and try to train me to take over after that. I only say that because Jon runs the Time Bandit during king crab, and the Hillstrands seem close to the Harris's.

Pro
    Level completed: 6%, Points required for next Level: 1,232
    Achievements:
    25000 Experience PointsVeteran

Level
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 15
    Given: 2

Quote Originally Posted by ruxCYtable View Post