Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran5000 Experience Points

Level
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

Which life insurance policy is best?

With a new mortgage and our first child due in a month, I will be making some tweaks to our life insurance policy. I'd like to see which route everybody else has taken in regards to the three policies discussed in the link below:

Which Life Insurance Is Best? - SmartMoney.com

I am no expert but my thoughts are that buying a term policy and investing the extra $ into a ROTH IRA would be the route to go.

Opinions on the subject?

Starter
    Level completed: 88%, Points required for next Level: 150
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran25000 Experience Points
    Level
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 17
    Given: 10

Re: Which life insurance policy is best?

Quote Originally Posted by waynemorgan View Post
    With a new mortgage and our first child due in a month, I will be making some tweaks to our life insurance policy. I'd like to see which route everybody else has taken in regards to the three policies discussed in the link below:

I am no expert but my thoughts are that buying a term policy and investing the extra $ into a ROTH IRA would be the route to go.

Opinions on the subject?
    I'm not an expert by any means but I went with a type of whole life policy. I am 32 and don't really need term insurance. Whole life fit me because I can front load the policy and let money grow tax differed, after I build the pool up enough, I can then loan the money back to myself in the future and pay a fair interest fee (to my policy or in other words to myself). This helps grow the "pot" a lot faster and allows you to pay interest to yourself rather than a bank. As I did my research, this was a no brainer for me but keep in mind everyone's situation is different. My situation allowed me to put up the higher premiums now. Eventually the policy will create enough dividend to pay the premium.