Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points
    Level
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 6

Sod recommendations

Anybody had sod work done in the Des Moines area recently and have a recommendation? My front yard looks like crap and I'm about ready to start over rather than nursing it back to life.

Starter
    Level completed: 60%, Points required for next Level: 491
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran25000 Experience Points
    Level
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 0

Re: Sod recommendations

Quote Originally Posted by Cyclone90 View Post
    Anybody had sod work done in the Des Moines area recently and have a recommendation? My front yard looks like crap and I'm about ready to start over rather than nursing it back to life.
    I'm not a hort expert, but if you can stomach it, I would seed rather than sod it. Just my opinion. In most cases I've seen, in the long term a seeded yard performs better than a sodded yard.

Addict
    Level completed: 50%, Points required for next Level: 956
    Achievements:
    Veteran50000 Experience Points
    Level
    Thumbs Up

Every time I have repaired large spots in my lawn I have tilled it up and seeded it in the fall. Those spots easily are some of the best spots in the lawn now, fall seeding is perfect because the grass seed germinates quicker and establishes a good root system and doesn't have to compete with the weeds like it does in the warmer temps. It's to that point of the year now that if you re-seeded you'd need to stay on top of watering it so it germinates quickly and starts to establish itself before the weeds start coming up then you'll have to make sure you stay on top of weed control throughout the summer so you get a good thick grass cover established else the weeds will just fill in the thinner spots making it harder to overseed.