Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Publisher
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 84.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation First ClassVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points
    Level
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 667
    Given: 183

Williams Blog: Orr's return equals big opportunity

Here are my thoughts on Johnny Orr's return to Ames and the big opportunity I feel it presents to the Cyclone Nation. I am super excited about tomorrow night.

Chris Williams' Blog on Iowa State Athletics: Johnny Orr's return equals one big opportunity | Cyclone Fanatic

Rookie
    Level completed: 37%, Points required for next Level: 445
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points

Level
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 6
    Given: 1

Re: Williams Blog: Orr's return equals big opportunity

Chris, I was a student at Iowa State when Orr was hired, I skipped class to go to the press conference. Back then we camped outside Hilton to get in the doors first and it was often a doublerheader with women's games. "My seat" was third row middle section behind the scorer's bench, so the ref could hear me when he came over to report a foul, yes the student seating was different back then. I was there when "Hilton Magic" was born, the night Barry Stevens jumper from the top of the key curled around the rim and fell to defeat a highly ranked mizzou in double OT. It was that night that Iowa State fans learned they could have an affect on the outcome of a game.

It eventually got where we always thought we had a chance no matter who came to town, Larry Brown never won there. I heard a well known commentator say on the air, "I think Iowa State would give the Lakers a good game in Hilton".

Your last sentence of your blog: "To all of the Cyclone Nation…Be loud. Be proud. And when you get to work on Thursday, you better not be able to talk." , sums it up perfectly, you always used to lose your voice at games.