Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Pro
    Points: 47,327, Level: 67
    Level completed: 27%, Points required for next Level: 1,023
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Burnsville, MN
    Posts
    2,953
    Points
    47,327
    Level
    67
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 70
    Given: 15

    HDTV-Computer Connection Issues

    Last weekend, I moved my desktop computer to the opposite side of the family room so it is close to the tv now. I thought it would be nice to connect them via HDMI....
    I can't seem to get the TV to recognize the computer.
    It is an Olevia 237T connected to an NVIDIA GeForce 210 over HDMI. I'm running Vista on the computer. The computer ID's the TV, tells me the model number, native resolution, etc. I've tried nearly every possible resolution output available from my video card.

    Getting pretty frustrated. Any help would be greatly appreciated.



  2. #2
    Speechless
    Points: 437,722, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 9.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Ames
    Posts
    23,904
    Points
    437,722
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 177
    Given: 25

    Re: HDTV-Computer Connection Issues

    Does your computer automatically output the HDMI or do you have to enable the dual monitor manually?

    And are you flipping your TV input to the correct HDMI input?



  3. #3
    Rookie
    Points: 8,526, Level: 27
    Level completed: 63%, Points required for next Level: 224
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran5000 Experience Points
    conmebol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    418
    Points
    8,526
    Level
    27
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 6

    Re: HDTV-Computer Connection Issues

    I have Olevia 32" in one of my bedroom. I think the native resolution is 1366x768. Make sure the tv source is in hdmi.



  4. #4
    Pro
    Points: 47,327, Level: 67
    Level completed: 27%, Points required for next Level: 1,023
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Burnsville, MN
    Posts
    2,953
    Points
    47,327
    Level
    67
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 70
    Given: 15

    Re: HDTV-Computer Connection Issues

    I've got the computer set up to run dual monitors. I have confirmed that I'm looking at the right HDMI connection, and 1366x768 also didn't work.
    Thanks for the ideas, keep them coming!



  5. #5
    Speechless
    Points: 437,722, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 9.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Ames
    Posts
    23,904
    Points
    437,722
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 177
    Given: 25

    Re: HDTV-Computer Connection Issues

    Did you try a different cable to rule out the cable? (Yes, I realize the computer recognizes the TV but hey, what can it hurt?)

    With the dual monitors, do you have to suggest VGA or HDMI manually?



  6. #6
    Pro
    Points: 47,327, Level: 67
    Level completed: 27%, Points required for next Level: 1,023
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Burnsville, MN
    Posts
    2,953
    Points
    47,327
    Level
    67
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 70
    Given: 15

    Re: HDTV-Computer Connection Issues

    Quote Originally Posted by IcSyU View Post
    Did you try a different cable to rule out the cable? (Yes, I realize the computer recognizes the TV but hey, what can it hurt?)

    With the dual monitors, do you have to suggest VGA or HDMI manually?

    GOT IT!!!!
    Good call about the different cables. My HDMI cable wasn't long enough so I got a 3 foot extension. I propped up the computer so that the original cable would reach and viola, it worked.
    Now the bummer is that I need to get a longer HDMI cable, fish it through the wall, take the TV off the wall to connect it, and put it back up.
    This is why I ran all the cables that I would conceivably need when I originally mounted the TV!

    Thanks for the help guys.



  7. #7
    Speechless
    Points: 437,722, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 9.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation Second ClassVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Ames
    Posts
    23,904
    Points
    437,722
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 177
    Given: 25

    Re: HDTV-Computer Connection Issues

    monoprice.com is your friend.



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • TV: FS1
  • Iowa State @ Oklahoma State
  • October 4, 2014
  • 11:00 AM