Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Bench Warmer
    Points: 14,544, Level: 36
    Level completed: 62%, Points required for next Level: 306
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    317
    Points
    14,544
    Level
    36
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    That broken white line at the top of my new TV

    I bought a new 47" HD tv last week. I have a broken white line at the top of the screen on the non HD channels. What's up with that? Can I get rid of it?

    GO CYCLONES!!!



  2. #2
    Addict
    Points: 172,997, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 9.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Marshalltown
    Posts
    9,657
    Points
    172,997
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 10
    Given: 18

    Re: That broken white line at the top of my new TV

    Try adjusting the format.



  3. #3
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 66,279, Level: 79
    Level completed: 90%, Points required for next Level: 171
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Your first GroupVeteran50000 Experience Points
    mred's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    SE WI
    Posts
    4,872
    Points
    66,279
    Level
    79
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 3
    Given: 0

    Re: That broken white line at the top of my new TV

    Sounds like you're talking about the NTSC signals (sync info and whatnot). If you see it, it's the fault of the channel sending out the signal, not your tv. Tube TVs usually have a little overscan so you don't see it.



  4. #4
    Addict
    Points: 146,976, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 12.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    6,187
    Points
    146,976
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: That broken white line at the top of my new TV

    I had the same thing when I got my first HDTV, and had Comcast digital in Seattle. It varied by station, so I assumed it was the fault of the station. That was also a cheap (relative) Westinghouse tv. Now my main tv hooked up to my Mediacom box is a Sony and I don't have any of those issues. So I'm not completely sure if it was the tv, Comcast, or the Seattle stations.



  5. #5
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 66,279, Level: 79
    Level completed: 90%, Points required for next Level: 171
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Your first GroupVeteran50000 Experience Points
    mred's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    SE WI
    Posts
    4,872
    Points
    66,279
    Level
    79
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 3
    Given: 0

    Re: That broken white line at the top of my new TV

    I suppose LCD tvs also might have varying degrees of overscan, so it could be the tv. I don't have an LCD tv so I can't say for sure.



  6. #6
    Addict
    Points: 65,818, Level: 79
    Level completed: 61%, Points required for next Level: 632
    Overall activity: 6.0%
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second ClassVeteran50000 Experience Points
    Rogue52's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Cedar Rapids, IA
    Posts
    5,714
    Points
    65,818
    Level
    79
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 11
    Given: 1

    Re: That broken white line at the top of my new TV

    Quick question..

    What format is the picture in? Is it some sort of screen fit and not standard 4:3 for non HD channels?

    As the first person mentioned, change the picture format to see if something looks better.



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • Football
  • Iowa State vs. North Dakota State
  • August 30, 2014
  • 06:00 PM