Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    All-Star
    Points: 21,675, Level: 45
    Level completed: 3%, Points required for next Level: 875
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points
    greatshu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Lawrence, KS
    Posts
    1,902
    Points
    21,675
    Level
    45
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 101
    Given: 40

    I cant access CF at home...

    Ever since the upgrade, I cant seem to access CF at home :( I dont have any problem accessing at work, but not at home. Anyone know how to fix it?



  2. #2
    Addict
    Points: 174,987, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 1.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    GeronimusClone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Des Moines, IA
    Posts
    8,249
    Points
    174,987
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 0

    Re: I cant access CF at home...

    I had the same problem. Chris told me this: "Issue is the DNS on your end. It is up to your ISP to update everything now. It has to happen sometime."

    And it did, works fine now.


    Quote Originally Posted by MNCyGuy View Post
    The only answer to "who/what is GeronimusClone?" is in fact "GeronimousClone". You're like The Todd on Scrubs.
    Quote Originally Posted by Angie View Post
    This is why you're my favorite

    Quote Originally Posted by MoreCowbell View Post
    GC, he's obviously all man. And I don't think Ellen would go *****, even for GC...

  3. #3
    All-Star
    Points: 27,600, Level: 51
    Level completed: 5%, Points required for next Level: 1,050
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    Ames's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    1,956
    Points
    27,600
    Level
    51
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 23
    Given: 0

    Re: I cant access CF at home...

    It's been long enough that it's not a DNS propagation problem at this point. I'd guess either you edited your hosts file or your ISP is doing something with DNS caching they shouldn't. If it's your ISP have fun trying to get them to do anything.



  4. #4
    All-Star
    Points: 47,798, Level: 67
    Level completed: 61%, Points required for next Level: 552
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures25000 Experience Points
    ISU_Alum_2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Aliso Viejo, CA
    Posts
    1,954
    Points
    47,798
    Level
    67
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 0
    Given: 0

    Re: I cant access CF at home...

    Your computer might have the old IP address for CF cached.

    If you are using Windows, open a Command Prompt and type:

    ipconfig /flushdns

    and hit Enter.



  5. #5
    Hall-Of-Famer
    Points: 61,389, Level: 76
    Level completed: 84%, Points required for next Level: 261
    Overall activity: 9.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points
    CycoCyclone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Urbandale
    Posts
    4,746
    Points
    61,389
    Level
    76
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 73
    Given: 333

    Re: I cant access CF at home...

    try using open dns instead of your ISP DNS server


    John Walters is my hero

  6. #6
    Speechless
    Points: 899,984, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 50.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience PointsOverdrive
    CycloneErik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Jamerica
    Posts
    59,855
    Points
    899,984
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 4,398
    Given: 3,579

    Re: I cant access CF at home...

    Find a new home that is CF compatible?


    Kansas Must Be Destroyed

    Sic Semper Jayhawks




    http://rememberingdoria.wordpress.com/

  7. #7
    All-Star
    Points: 21,675, Level: 45
    Level completed: 3%, Points required for next Level: 875
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points
    greatshu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Lawrence, KS
    Posts
    1,902
    Points
    21,675
    Level
    45
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 101
    Given: 40

    Re: I cant access CF at home...

    Quote Originally Posted by CycloneErik View Post
    Find a new home that is CF compatible?
    Ha ha ha. I just bought my new house last June. No thanks on moving again.



  8. #8
    Speechless
    Points: 899,984, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 50.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience PointsOverdrive
    CycloneErik's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Jamerica
    Posts
    59,855
    Points
    899,984
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 4,398
    Given: 3,579

    Re: I cant access CF at home...

    Quote Originally Posted by greatshu View Post
    Ha ha ha. I just bought my new house last June. No thanks on moving again.
    What if CW got you a coupon and a good deal on a new home?


    Kansas Must Be Destroyed

    Sic Semper Jayhawks




    http://rememberingdoria.wordpress.com/

  9. #9
    Publisher
    Points: 837,779, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 27.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation First ClassVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points
    ChrisMWilliams's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Des Moines
    Posts
    17,168
    Points
    837,779
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1,609
    Given: 388

    Re: I cant access CF at home...

    The tips that have already been given here are good ones. There is literally nothing that we can do on this end. We've done everything that we can. It is all up to your ISP and DNS situation. I apologize for this being a pain but the server switch was something that we really needed to do.



  10. #10
    Speechless
    Points: 753,180, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 99.8%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience PointsOverdrive
    Cyclonepride's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    A pineapple under the sea
    Posts
    51,518
    Points
    753,180
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 3,688
    Given: 1,762

    Re: I cant access CF at home...

    Another issue while this is on the board- on my Blackberry, the left side banners show up right in the middle of the pages, and when I go to post, it keeps asking for a title, even if there is one. Should I be running the site in a certain mode? Thanks



  11. #11
    All-Star
    Points: 41,992, Level: 63
    Level completed: 27%, Points required for next Level: 958
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    tec71's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Ankeny, Iowa
    Posts
    1,257
    Points
    41,992
    Level
    63
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 81
    Given: 8

    Re: I cant access CF at home...

    Have your wife uninstall the baracuda filter she put on your computer.


    "95% of all quotes posted on Facebook are either made up or mistakenly attributed to someone famous." - Albert Einstien


  12. #12
    All-Star
    Points: 21,675, Level: 45
    Level completed: 3%, Points required for next Level: 875
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran10000 Experience Points
    greatshu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Lawrence, KS
    Posts
    1,902
    Points
    21,675
    Level
    45
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 101
    Given: 40

    Re: I cant access CF at home...

    I flushed DNS last night, and no luck. Ugghhh. Not having CF at home is sad... :(

    Any other suggestions to how I maybe able to fix this?



  13. #13
    Legend
    Points: 145,515, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 22.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Marshalltown
    Posts
    10,463
    Points
    145,515
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 377
    Given: 262

    Re: I cant access CF at home...

    Quote Originally Posted by greatshu View Post
    I flushed DNS last night, and no luck. Ugghhh. Not having CF at home is sad... :(

    Any other suggestions to how I maybe able to fix this?
    As mentioned earlier, try OpenDNS



  14. #14
    All-Star
    Points: 27,600, Level: 51
    Level completed: 5%, Points required for next Level: 1,050
    Overall activity: 0%
    Achievements:
    Veteran25000 Experience Points
    Ames's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    1,956
    Points
    27,600
    Level
    51
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 23
    Given: 0

    Re: I cant access CF at home...

    Quote Originally Posted by greatshu View Post
    I flushed DNS last night, and no luck. Ugghhh. Not having CF at home is sad... :(

    Any other suggestions to how I maybe able to fix this?
    run each of these commands (separately) and paste in here what it shows

    nslookup www.cyclonefanatic.com

    tracert www.cyclonefanatic.com



  15. #15
    Starter
    Points: 27,758, Level: 51
    Level completed: 19%, Points required for next Level: 892
    Overall activity: 3.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran25000 Experience Points
    CRCy17's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    New York, NY
    Posts
    856
    Points
    27,758
    Level
    51
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 5
    Given: 7

    Re: I cant access CF at home...

    I cant access CF at school because our webserver says there is spyware associated with CF?



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • TV: TBD
  • FOOTBALL: Iowa State vs. UNI
  • August 29, 2015
  • 06:00 PM