Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Addict
    Points: 181,383, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 8.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Marshalltown
    Posts
    9,979
    Points
    181,383
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 134
    Given: 126

    Video conversion software

    I have some videos on my phone that are stored in 3gp format (whatever that is) and I'd like to convert them into avi and/or mpeg. Any suggestions on software to use?



  2. #2
    Addict
    Points: 127,057, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 4.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteran50000 Experience Points
    tim_redd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Ankeny
    Posts
    7,405
    Points
    127,057
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 111
    Given: 54

    Re: Video conversion software

    Handbrake is typically the go to software for me for those types of things.

    HandBrake



  3. #3
    All-Star
    Points: 32,458, Level: 55
    Level completed: 47%, Points required for next Level: 592
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    Created Album pictures25000 Experience PointsVeteran
    fatkid1974's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    van down by the river
    Posts
    1,177
    Points
    32,458
    Level
    55
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 16
    Given: 9

    Re: Video conversion software

    Quote Originally Posted by tim_redd View Post
    Handbrake is typically the go to software for me for those types of things.

    HandBrake
    +1, thats what I use. Works great.



  4. #4
    Addict
    Points: 181,383, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 8.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Marshalltown
    Posts
    9,979
    Points
    181,383
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 134
    Given: 126

    Re: Video conversion software

    Quote Originally Posted by tim_redd View Post
    Handbrake is typically the go to software for me for those types of things.

    HandBrake
    Quote Originally Posted by fatkid1974 View Post
    +1, thats what I use. Works great.
    I can't get Handbrake to work. I select the 3gp file as a source and it seems to read it okay and when I select "Start" it says "Encoding" then "Encoding finished" but I don't see any output file.



  5. #5
    All-Star
    Points: 32,458, Level: 55
    Level completed: 47%, Points required for next Level: 592
    Overall activity: 2.0%
    Achievements:
    Created Album pictures25000 Experience PointsVeteran
    fatkid1974's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    van down by the river
    Posts
    1,177
    Points
    32,458
    Level
    55
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 16
    Given: 9

    Re: Video conversion software

    Quote Originally Posted by 1100011CS View Post
    I can't get Handbrake to work. I select the 3gp file as a source and it seems to read it okay and when I select "Start" it says "Encoding" then "Encoding finished" but I don't see any output file.
    guessing you just can't find destination, but I could be wrong, I'm no expert. I'd go into the handbrake options and see if you can find where it's sending it. My wife just told me it took her a couple tries to get everything set up right.



  6. #6
    Addict
    Points: 181,383, Level: 100
    Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
    Overall activity: 8.0%
    Achievements:
    SocialVeteranCreated Album pictures50000 Experience Points

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Marshalltown
    Posts
    9,979
    Points
    181,383
    Level
    100
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 134
    Given: 126

    Re: Video conversion software

    Quote Originally Posted by fatkid1974 View Post
    guessing you just can't find destination, but I could be wrong, I'm no expert. I'd go into the handbrake options and see if you can find where it's sending it. My wife just told me it took her a couple tries to get everything set up right.
    Not sure what was wrong but I downloaded a newer version (nightly build) and it works. Thanks!



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
  • TV: FS1
  • Iowa State @ Oklahoma State
  • October 4, 2014
  • 11:00 AM