If you sell your car to a person in another state do you have to return your license plate to the state? Where?
Don't you have to return your plates to get a pro-rated refund on your registration? I would assume you'd return them to the county in which the vehicle was registered. Otherwise I guess you can just keep them and let the registration expire.
If I sell my vehicle and do not replace it, do I get a refund for the unused portion of my registration payment?
If you sell a vehicle and DO NOT replace the vehicle within 30 days, you may apply for a refund. The following is required:
• You have up to six months after you sell your vehicle to apply for a refund. • The calculated unused portion of the registration fee must be $10 or more to receive a refund. The refund is calculated from the date the vehicle is disposed to the expiration of the registration. • The license plates must be turned in and the date of disposal disclosed at any county treasurer’s office. • The refund is submitted to the State of Iowa by the County Treasurer and the refund will take approximately four weeks to receive.
"I honestly believe we're doing it in a great, great way, and I hope our fans who are Iowa State fans go to work proudly, not just because of how we win and lose games or how many games we do win, but how we do it." - Bill Fennelly
All content owned by CycloneFanatic.com - All rights reserved 2005-09. By viewing this website you agree to the Terms of Service, Site Rules and Legal Disclaimer. The words, views, images and opinions expressed or provided by users do not reflect the opinions or views of CycloneFanatic.com or Iowa State University. The names, words, symbols, and graphics representing Iowa State University are trademarks and copyrights of the University protected by the trademark and copyright laws of the United States of America and other countries and are used on this web site under license from the University. Original site design, premise & construction by Jeremy Lind.