Men’s basketball scholarship report, 3-15

By Chris Williams, Publisher With the recent news that Justin Hamilton and Dominique Buckley are transferring away from Iowa State, one question keeps popping up over cyberspace.

What does Iowa State’s scholarship situation look like right now? That’s what I am going to attempt to answer for you today. Below is Iowa State’s latest scholarship tree.

Iowa State’s scholarship breakdown for next season Seniors: Diante Garrett, Jamie Vanderbeken, LaRon Dendy, Charles Boozer Juniors: Scott Christopherson (RS), DeMarcus Phillips Sophomores: Chris Colvin Freshmen: Antwon Oliver (RS), Melvin Ejim, Jordan Railey

Go ahead and add Alex Dorr to the sophmore list as a walk-on. Bubu Palo will also be a red-shirt freshman.

Every division one basketball team in America gets 13 scholarships. As of now, 10 of Iowa State’s are taken for next season, leaving three for the Cyclones to hand out during the spring signing period. will be working hard over the next few weeks to figure out who might receive those scholarships. As we’ve been reporting for months, Marshalltown Community College’s Will Clyburn and Southeastern Iowa Community College’s John Wilkins are the early front-runners.

Chris Williams


Chris was hired as Cyclone Fanatic’s publisher in the fall of 2009. He is Iowa State football's postgame show host on the Cyclone Radio Network and can be heard daily from 4-7 on Des Moines' top-rated sports station, 1460 KXnO. Williams, a 2007 graduate of Iowa State’s Greenlee School of Journalism, is the former publisher of the old ( He has also written for the Des Moines Register, the Ames Tribune, and is the former sports director at KMA Radio. When Williams isn’t working, you can usually find him doing something outdoors with his wife Ashley, daughter Camryn, and Golden Retriever Dierks. He enjoys golfing, boating, country music, the Minnesota Vikings, Atlanta Braves and is passionate about any and all motor sports so finding Williams at a local dirt track is very common.